We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is my favourite place to stay in Sudbury. I always get good service at Marriott hotels but this is one of the best. I am recognized as an elite member at check in and got offered a nice free upgrade for my loyalty. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and the breakfast is good for a free fare. The eggs taste fresh not powdered like. And always well stocked. Best place to stay in my opinion in Sudbury.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 296 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent some time in Sudbury in April - not the ideal time to be there but the hotel was very good.

I have stayed at my share of Marriott locations and this one was excellent. The lobby was smaller than what I am accustomed to and the desk staff where kind of "just there", but the condition of the lobby, the breakfast room and the room itself were first rate.

The rooms were cleaned and very spotless and we even had a nice breakfast restaurant next door (although I have to say that this hotel was kind of situated in a bit of an isolated area) but, again, the quality expected from Marriott was present.

If you don't have a car (this was my problem as my bf used it during the day to work) then you will feel a bit like a lone tourist - as I mentioned there is not a lot to do around the property (except the great breakfast place and the pharmacy) - still, I did enjoy this property.

Room Tip: Do not book here if you don't have access to a car at all times. Go to the breakfast restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed for one night. Room was okay. Bed was not that comfy. The room was cold. I needed to ask for extra blankets. I used the exercise room which was right beside the pool. This design was not a good idea. The exercise room was like a chlorine chamber. All I could smell as I ran on the treadmill was chlorine. I felt like I was being poisoned so I had to open the windows. Thank God there were windows! Shower was also bad design - it's not a tub so you don't have the option for a bath. Complimentary breakfast was low grade, Styrofoam / paper plates? Why not use real plates. Also there was not enough food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We experienced a quick check-in, a clean, quiet, and comfortable room where everything worked well, and a "continental" breakfast that was really more than continental -- sausage and eggs, oatmeal and cereal, yoghurt, breads, juices. Fairfield is on the economy end of Marriott hotels: not that this wasn't a budget hotel; we paid about $125 in December for a room with two queen beds. For comparison, we had stayed on an earlier occasion at the Comfort Inn almost across the street, which was about $40 less. Compared to that, the Fairfield was clearly a better greater value -- more front desk staff, better trained, and friendlier; much more attractive lobby (with winter fireplace); building of more solid construction with convenient elevators; fresher room; better breakfast. There was nothing so special about the hotel that you'd make it a destination, but it was entirely dependable and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A Fairfield Inn is not the top of the line for Marriott but I love it because it has all the Marriott touches of very clan, comfortable and excellent service. They had computers / printers available for guest use. I especially appreciate this when I am traveling by motorcycle as I can't take a computer with me, just my Kindle and iphone. The staff here was friendly and let me park right up front under the awning all night. It did freeze overnight so that was helpful.

The location was behind a restaurant, kind of odd, but strangely it was easy to find and well located near lots of restaurants. They had coupons and dining deals which I was able to use as my friend chose one of the places which had a coupon.

I greatly enjoy the trend of having a fridge in the room also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northwomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for only one night. Very clean room, breakfast was very good. Walking distant from the Keg. Best place in Sudbury for a quick trip. I booked a whirlpool room $$$ and we couldn't check- in before 6 p.m. All I got was sorry for the inconvenience from the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We came to Sudbury for a sporting event and since we booked late we had very few hotels to choose from. I wasn't sure what to expect. I had stayed at Fairfield in the U.S. with no issue.
We were very pleased that we chose this hotel. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. No bad smells !!

Free WiFi - we have stayed at hotels that say free wifi but you are restricted from watching youtube or netflix without paying for an upgrade !!! Not the case here.

The dining room was nice and the breakfast was great. It wasn't extensive as far as hot food but the fruit was fresh and there was good variety in other categories of breakfast foods.

I think it's great that there is dining room/lounge - especially if you were travelling with a sports team or other couples because you could all order dinner and eat in there I assume (you may want to ask first) add some drinks and you have an affordable meal - because its so expensive to travel with kids and it's often awkward eating in a hotel room.

I found the bed comfortable. They certainly were not rock hard, And yes you can hear things in the hall (not so much through the walls) but I have never been in a hotel where I heard nothing. I have super keen hearing and I am a light sleeper. I had no difficulty here, and our room was across from the elevator - but I did sleep with the bathroom fan on to drown out noise - just as I do at home - it worked like a charm.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
190 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury

Address: 490 Barrydowne Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 3T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sudbury
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range: $115 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Fairfield Inn And Suites Sudbury
Fairfield Inn Sudbury
Fairfield Sudbury
Fairfield Inn Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing