We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drunken cougars partying outside our room at 2:30 am.”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Drunken cougars partying outside our room at 2:30 am.”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We had read other reviews of this hotel about noise and I was reluctant to stay here but succumbed to pressure as other family members were there. Will not happen again. I had emailed the hotel about the need for quiet and they promised to put us in a room far from others. We were moved shortly after our arrival due to excessive noise in the adjacent room.. Second night we were awoken at 2:30 am by a group of screaming cougars who were very drunk and disorderly. It was so outrageous that security people escorted some of these middle-aged losers out. Soon after that police and paramedics arrived on the scene. Perhaps one of the old gals needed to be resuscitated. Subsequently, there was a lot of commotion in the parking lot outside our room. It was a nightmare. Could not get back to sleep. We left at 4am this morning and drove back home for a proper sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadagoose_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    16
    17
    16
See reviews for
18
23
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We reserved our rooms as a group for my daughter's wedding. The staff was courteous, kind, helpful and so friendly. We all felt at home. My 15 mth old grandson slept in our room and they were very accommodating providing a crib/playpen with linen, a fridge for his milk/juice/baby food and use of the microwave in the lobby at any time. Any requests were dealt with promptly. The wedding reception was wonderful and the food great. We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The restaurant served delicious food. We were very busy, coming and going all the time and really appreciated that the continental breakfast was available early enough. Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maskeradebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed here from one night after an exhausting trip on a long weekend to return my son to his college. I walked in without a reservation and asked for a last minute deal and received $40 off the advertised rate. The girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
The room was quite nice. The decor has been updated, the room was in good repair. It was a bit on the small size, but not a big deal for a single traveller. (1 King size bed) The bed was incredibly comfortable. Strangely, the pillows are small and flimsy but there were enough to pile several up.
It was a nice stay at the price I paid but their regular price would be way too much. ($139-$149)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loutri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Happened upon this hotel on the suggestion of a friend. It's a great find. The property isn't the newest in town but it is very well maintained with lots of unique character. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The king sized bed was great...so comfortable and a great nights sleep! The staff really were attentive and very friendly. Had a great meal in the restaurant that is apparently known for their steaks...a delicious and convenient meal two nights in a row. Got held over on the Friday to tie up some business ends while in Sudbury and the lounge / nightclub came alive very late that night and was a great unwind to the week. Good Martinis! It's a smaller hotel that seems to really take care. The pool and fitness were very clean and quiet. I would suggest this hotel to friends and family. Good job Ambassador, I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBrooksATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I travel extensively across North America for business, spending roughly 150 nights per year in hotels and this is one of the worst experiences I've ever had.

I have stayed at this hotel a few times before but only ever on weekdays. Generally, it has been an ok hotel to stay at but nothing special. The rooms look like they have been renovated recently and are clean but the building itself is very old and dated, however, the staff are very friendly. The main issue I have is a major issue - There is a nightclub attached to the hotel and loud bass music begins about 8pm and continues throughout the night. Then the patrons of the club hang out in the parking lot with music blarring. Sleep is not possible in this hotel when the nightclub is open.

Having a nightclub attached to the hotel was a very poor business decision by the owners as the hotel does have a lot of other points going for it. Unfortunetly, any good points I could mention are completely overshadowed by the noise.

The owners have to decide whether they want a nightclub here or a hotel, because one is not complimentary for the other.

Do not stay here.

I'm speechless...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanoctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sudbury hotels

Toronto
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This was our second jaunt up into the great white. Although this time around there was nearly half the snow we anticipated.

Anywho... this place I believe is family owned and operated. It truly has that warm, cozy feeling though out the entire place. Our rooms, we had two, we both immaculate. The staff here are also very accommodating . They have a neat little restaurant Great food, great atmosphere. Both times I had the ribs. Just wanted to thank the staff - See you all in Spring 2010.

Hank.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Traveling across the country with small children can be difficult to start, but the Ambassador hotel was able to assist us with our every need. The Front Desk staff where able to provide us with a playpen and fridge for formula for our infant and our young son was delighted with the pool. The Hotel staff went out of thier way to get a late night snack for us when our son needed a warm glass of milk before bed. Thank you for all your help and making this the most relaxing and restful night of our cross country trip!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#19 of 33 in Sudbury
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 225 Falconbridge Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 5K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ambassador Hotel - Where warmth and friendliness begin at the Front Desk! Our convenient location situates you minutes from the Greater Sudbury Airport and places you in the midst of Northern Ontario's largest retail and uniquely diverse business district. Our boutique style property with clean and comfortable guest rooms feature a host of amenities to help make your stay most enjoyable. As our guest, enjoy complimentary wireless internet, 24-hour business centre, indoor pool, fitness studio, and complimentary continental breakfast. Laura Fratelli's, our on premise licensed restaurant, features great steaks and fresh pastas Monday through Saturday. Full Service Meeting and Conference facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing