We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a nice B & B!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We travelled to Sudbury with another couple to see Science North, and were looking for a centrally-located B & B to stay overnight. Chose this one based on on-line reviews and the informnation on the web-site, and were delighted with our choice. The hosts Pete & Linda were friendly and helpful, our two rooms were spacious, clean, and beautifully-finished, with nice ensuites and a shared kitchenette where we could have our own snacks & drinks, and where we were served our breakfast by Pete. And speaking of breakfast, what a home-made feast that was! The B & B location is in an older neighbourhood, convenient to downtown activities and restaurants, and handy to other attractions such as Science North, Laurentian U., the hospital and the arena. All-in-all, just a great spot to stay if you are looking for a quality B & B experience in Sudbury.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
15
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballinafad, Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pete and Linda know how to do it well. Their B and B is so welcoming, with a huge room and huge ensuite bathroom with nice and bright shower, a kitchenette to share with the other room's occupants, a fridge, microwave, wine glasses and bottle opener just helped to make our stay so relaxing. Pete is a fount of info about Sudbury , with directions to many places and suggestions of places to go. The breakfasts are to die for! Incredible fruit, homemade bread and crumble, and a different main each day.( and Pete even asked if there was something we wanted to have). Location is great - close to downtown, 10 minutes from Laurentian University, just perfect, nice and quiet location

Room Tip: One room has a king size bed, linens are sooooo soft, the other room actually has a separate sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicbizperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I am so happy I chose to stay at the Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse during my 2 night trip to Sudbury. The room was very clean and the linens smelled exceptionally fresh. Pete was very welcoming and friendly. The best part? The breakfast! It was fantastic...beyond my expectations: homemade, plentiful and delicious.

I sincerely recommend this as the first and best accommodation choice in Sudbury. The only drawback I could see for someone, is that it is a bit tough to get to for a solo traveler who is not driving. But it really isn't a far walk at all to downtown Sudbury and the restaurants and bars located there.

Wifi, TV, kitchen, private bathroom: all the amenities I needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Lake Superior Provincial Park.
I wasn't sure about this B & B as we usually stay at musty Victorian mansions.
Well I'm tired of them. The Artisan Upstairs was refreshing in more ways than one.
Even the bed smelled good. It's the upper floor of a renovated duplex in a middle class Sudbury neighbourhood but don't let that deter you. It's very clean and believe me I check. The breakfast was lovely, croissants, jam made by Pete's sister, a boiled egg peaking out of an egg cup, and lots of cold meats and cheese for my carnivore husband. Fresh cherry tomatoes. A bright breakfast room with tea and coffee, water, available before breakfast. Pete is gracious, accomodating and real.
A wonderful part of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed at this lovely B & B on June 2nd and 3rd while visiting my daughter in Sudbury. It was my first time staying at a B & B and while I may not be an afficinado I can tell you that I am extremely fussy.

We had the Terra Room with the large 4-poster bed, private bath, private sitting room, and use of a fantastic mini-kitchen and a beautiful deck overlooking the backyard.

What stands out for me was the cleanliness, the fact that each room had brand new windows that let in lots of FRESH AIR, the towells smelled nice as if they were hung on the line, the spaciousness, the amazing Zen-like decorating with real potted plants everywhere including a little sprig of Lilly of the Valley on my bathroom windowskill, and amazing attention to detail with the furnishings, and decorating.

What was way beyond my expectations was the breakfast. My first breakfast included coffee, orange juice, fresh bowl of fruit, platter of cheese, prosciutto, and veggies, homemade banana bread, boiled eggs, warmed croissants, yogurt.........FANTASTIC....and always decorated with edible flowers and sprigs of mint. The second breakfast surpassed the first.

This was an OASIS and the host and hostess were very kind and helpful giving us ideas and directions for seeing the city. Thank you Peter and Linda for inspiring me to perhaps have my own B & B one day.

Room Tip: Terra Room has bonus sitting room 4 extra guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonCherieThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our three night stay was absolutely perfect!

Surrounded by tastefully handcrafted decore, exceptionally clean, bright and spacious. Lovely large room with comfy king size four poster bed, perfect sitting area with sofa, table, clock radio, built in TV and VCR, cupboards and closet for clothes and a large window you clould open. Beautiful bathroom with great shower, fresh towels and bedding daily. A great equipped kitchen. All the amenities and more we needed to be very comfortable during our stay. Breakfast time was decided on our arrival and absolutley amazing (a variety of fresh fruits, cheeses, veggies, breads, eggs served boiled, omlett style, meats, breads, jams,coffee, juices, with tastefully added garnishes from the very gardens you overlook from the quaint private balcony.

Pete was very pleasant and informative about sites to see and places to eat.

Pete and Linda, you both helped to make our weekend a lovely one and we have shared our experiences about our stay at your home with many. We will certainly be back.

Thank you. Jenn Love

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank jlove_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I would recommend this B & B to everyone visiting Sudbury. The rooms are super clean; your own private bathroom; TV; king size bed; good size private balcony overlooking a very nice backyard that is quite private. If you want to sit out in the evening, bring musquito repellent or Citronella candles as there was none in the shared kitchen! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcutanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
717 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse

Property: Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse
Address: 318 Jeanne d'Arc Ave | Sudbury, Ontario, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 2Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sunset and earth Caribbean inspired interior blend beautifully with your host's Pete & Linda's own hand crafted furnishings & decor. Our two room guesthouse is centrally located in a quiet section minutes from downtown Sudbury walking distance to Bell Park & the Lake Ramsey Board Walk. comfortable stylish rooms with King Size Bed, private ensuite wireless High-speed Internet hook-up, private sitting area, TV, DVD, VHS, CD in every room. We have a guest kitchenette with access to private deck overlooking the rugged northern Ontario landscape. All add to the comfortable relaxed uniqueness of our rooms. Great for couples or out of town family to stay in private luxury accomodations for up to six people. 'Come experience a new flavour' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing