We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Budget Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
South River, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were pleased with our stay. Renovated rooms. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Wifi & cable worked well for us. Breakfast is simple but adequate. We thought the coffee was fine for us. Maybe need to provide a spray for the waffle machine so waffles don't stick.

Location is close to Dynamic Earth and the Science Center which is what we were looking for. It did not seem too far to drive to any other place we needed even though it is located the end of town. Quiet.

There is a restaurant on site that we did not use. It looked okay.

Very friendly owners. They work hard to make your stay pleasant.

I am not sure, as I saw another reviewer say, what people are expecting for $70-$80 a night. If you want more - pay more. I would recommend this lovely little place for a very economical stay in Sudbury!!! I am a travel consultant and I have stayed in many hotels, all different levels. Sudbury Inn exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookie0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Renovated Room. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know.
With Hospitality,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    25
    3
    9
See reviews for
27
34
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

With 4 guests, the room was TINY. We could barely move around without stepping on each other. Rooms were updated and fairly clean; cable did not work. We were all uncomfortable leaving our motorcycles unattended in the parking lot here. Wifi was sketchy. Breakfast was a joke - imitation egg patties and a dirty waffle maker; coffee was awful. We ate elsewhere. I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. We always appreciate and welcome the customer very honest input. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view.

I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations throughout your stay. Although it is great to hear that you found our Renovated Room clean.

We also like to draw some fact information on your very judgmental kind of comments are;

1. You guys have parked your motorcycles in hotel parking lot and there was nothing wrong
but we can understand your concern as where you come from......
2. A day (July 3rd, 2014) you stayed with us has almost 70% occupancy (rooms occupied) in
our hotel and neither any one nor you have complained for either cable or Wi-Fi on that
night.....
3. We can definitely understand your meaning of JOKE for the Free Morning Breakfast
because what we offer everyday is – Waffle, Egg Patties (unlimited), Incomparable size of
Chocolate chip Muffin, Types of Beagles, Slice Bread, Chocolate chip Cookies, Van-Houttee
Coffee, Tea, Three kinds of Cereals, Butter Cup, Peanuts Butter Cup, Strawberry Jam Cup,
Astro Yogurt Cup, Two Kind of Juices, Milk, Cream, Mineral Water, Banana, Apples, and
others.

To have all these above mentioned items in daily breakfast and offer by independent motel like us is indeed a healthy and very much acceptable kind of JOKE, isn’t it?

Please excuse us if it is hard to digest but we do not advertise as a Hotel for the HOT BREAKFAST even though we offer EGG PATTY, isn’t it not a appreciable service??????

We take a lot of pride in the service we deliver and try our level best to maintain our property not just only as the operators but always consider as the Customers ourselves. Our basic goal is to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations and believe in healthy long term business relationship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Why is this 5 stars? It's 5 stars for what you're getting. For people who are thinking 5 stars means that this place has suddenly turned into the Hilton, no, it hasn't. It means that for a fantastic price you get a clean, quiet, and spacious room. I'm not sure what people are expecting for around $70-80. If you want the Hilton, if you want super-modern beige rooms with access to a weight room, then go to the Hilton and pay $140+. If you want value and a good no-frills sleep, stay here.

As someone else mentioned, the room is very 80s. But who cares? The furniture is in perfect shape, and the bed very comfortable. The spacious room looks renovated, and certainly the bathroom is. Even though the hotel is on Lorne, the hallway fronting the rooms is glassed in; the result is no traffic noise.

Yes, the hotel is older. Yes, there is some hotel noise (closing doors from other rooms, thin walls.) But even that aside this is still a great place to spend the night. The staff is super friendly, and the continental breakfast is actually more than just muffins. You get a selection of things to eat (though the coffee is admittedly pretty bad).

One minor complaint (to the owners): please stop using rug cleaners that have fragrances that make the room smell "fresh" or "new." All these kinds of cleaners do is emit chemical odours. Please stop using them!

It seems to me that I wrote a similar review about the Imperial Fireside. And I've since discovered that they are owned by the same people. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our hotel. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is great to hear that you found our Renovated Room to be comfortable and our breakfast to be superb!
Our basic goal is to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations and believe in healthy long term business relationship. We take a lot of pride in the service we deliver and try our level best to maintain our property not just only as the operators but always consider as the Customers ourselves.
We appreciate your honest input as it guides us in the right direction. We will use your comments as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sudbury.
With Hospitality,
Jay Mahida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was supposed to stay at the Imperial Fireside Inn June 18, but they asked if I would like to try this one as they own both and the price was the same, so I accepted. It was good, quiet, decent and the price was right. I would definitely stay here again for business for the same price. I'm usually up one night a month.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossNorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room to be modern and clean. We hope that you choose our hotel on your next trip to the area.
With Hospitality,
Jay Mahida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapuskasing, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

An older hotel at the end of town, not many services close-by. But Lorne Street gets you fast into town. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are nice. The breakfast is typical of what you get in chain hôtels. Overall, good price, good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room to be modern and clean. We hope that you choose our hotel on your next trip to the area.
With Hospitality,
Jay Mahida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very comfortable and immaculately clean hotel - great continental breakfast, nice owners. We booked at the Imperial Fireside Inn, when we went to check in the owners offered us a room at the Sudbury Inn, (right next door) that they also own. This one has free breakfast and is newly renovated. The rooms are nice and have a little fridge and microwave. You can't beat it at this price - not fancy from the outside but if you want a clean comfortable room in Sudbury try it - you won't be disappointed! Really wanted to try the attached restaurant - Mongolian Grill but we had plans with family. The Big Nickel is right behind. The Imperial Fireside looks cute from the outside - you can tell the owners take great pride in both of these places.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradylesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room to be modern and clean. We hope that you choose our hotel on your next trip to the area.
With Hospitality,
Jay Mahida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Newly renovated, modern room furnishings and nicely upgraded bathroom. Great pricing, free wifi, cable tv, fridge, microwave AND free breakfast. Very clean in and out. Had the pleasure of meeting the owner Menal, friendly, courteous, and thoughtful. Would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room to be modern and clean. We hope that you choose our hotel on your next trip to the area.
With Hospitality,
Minal & Jay Mahida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 32 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1145 Lorne St | ON, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn
Econo Lodge Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing