We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was freezing cold!!! There was no hot water unless you ran it for 5 minutes prior to using it. The bathroom was decent but the floor was ceramic tile and freezing as well. I wasn't that comfortable with the level of cleanliness in the room overall. Don't take any restaurant recommendations from the desk! They must have an inner circle who tries to promote one and other. Nibblers Pizza was the best he said and the food was so bad it made my son sick!!! It was terrible! There is a lot of Indian food being prepared in this pizza place because all the food tasted like stale air from an Indian restaurant! I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick one elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeannaGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your time to share your PERSONAL experience for staying with us. In respect to your personal opinion we are here to make some proper justification from our end to make it more crystal clear.
1, Hotel walkway might be you feel cold (Now a day temperature in Sudbury is around -25 to -30 ‘C) but not room because it is our policy to turn on the heater prior to customer check in. (Check in time after 3.00 pm).

2, It is understood that to get hot water @ temperature -25 to -30 will take a while and it is only in such severe cold weather.

3, We proud to say that our cleanliness quality is very good and we take care our property very personally as we are just like customer. We have no complaint or any reason from your end at the time of your stay about cleanliness.

4, We always give suggestions or information to our valued customers in reference to other customer’s own personal experience. It does not mean we have some kind of affiliation with any kind of business. We just try to help customer what we know and other customer shared their view of experience with local restaurant during their stay.

5, It is clearly showed that what you trying to pointing on particular restaurant or nationality is seems like very personal opinion by any reason from your end.

We are the new management at this property and trying our level best to make customer stay satisfied by having our continuous effort for better quality of cleanliness, environment and reputation.
We once again thanks for your PERSONAL opinion and wish next time you are in Sudbury, come and stay at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    25
    3
    9
See reviews for
28
34
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor ON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was my second stay here and my stay was for 3 weeks. I like this place because of the value and the quietness. It is not the cheapest place in Sudbury but you are getting a nicely furnished room that is kept quiet clean, cheaper then other deluxe accommodations. For the most part, with the temperature conditioner fan on, the room was quiet; some banging from the other room doors but no street noise. The Sudbury Inn is owned and run by the same people who own the Imperial Fireside Inn ( Jay and his wife), who have built up a reputation of taking care of their customers. They are trying to do the same with this inn but sometimes his front desk staff don't understand their philosophy; therefore I recommend dealing with Jay if you have any problems or requests.
P.S. During my lengthy stay I had no problems with bedbugs or any other type of bugs.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the stairwell way be noisier then other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on our property. We appreciate, to share your wonderful experience with our hotels. We are so glad that you enjoyed your another stay with us and look forward from you to stay again. We are trying our best (newly purchased – “Sudbury Inn”) to bring @ same reputation as of “Imperial Fireside Inn” and are pretty sure a day will come very soon. We sincerely apology for little misunderstanding with our front desk operator but we have no doubt about the way of taking care of our valued customer like you.
We wish to see you again and make you experience the best hospitality moments.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

You can obviously tell this place was renovated. Looks like all non-smoking rooms have been updated with modern colours, very clean, smelled great.

All in all, nice place to stay for the price, nicer rooms then most larger hotel chains, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I don't think the "smoking" rooms have been renovated. I could be wrong though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave56395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at our hotel. It is our pleasure to have you always as our valued guest.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. Both times the rooms were clean and nicely renovated. Check in and out was easy and the owner was friendly. I do agree with another visitor's comments about the entry points from the parking lot - there should be some additional access points. We'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranscriptionistPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much!! We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at "Sudbury Inn" and hope you travel again Sudbury soon and be sure to call ahead to reserve a room for you.
Once again, Thank you for writing a review for our motel!
With Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a non-smoker but they tried to fine me for smoking. Owners are awful miserable people, tried to barge into my room when I was behind them. When i turned the sheets back I found sand and other debris there and thought there were bedbugs, but it turned out it was just filthy.
This was a room rented by my company for me, I will tell them to take their business elsewhere.
These people should be ashamed and give themselves a shake. Very disrespectful.
The only positive was that their housekeeping staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: never ever stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
First of all what ever customer opinion was 100% aligation to us and our policy and here are the truth thing what we need to let others;

1, Room rented to him is newly 100% renovated Non-smoking and there are couple of signed mentioning it is non-smoking room
2, We found day after his complained of dust on bed, personally checked by the GM and found the dirt through his working boot every where in room and broomed by us personally. At the same time found a wax stick of air freshner in his room which is obviously not required in Non-smoking (2 month before 100% renovated room) room.
3, Same day evening we called him and come to us with a paper and started giving us explanation that I am on doctor prescription to take ......, which we have not asked for anything.
4, While we asked him about that airfreshner in his room, I never somke in room and smoking outside.
5, Next day morning at 11.15am (11.00 checkout time) knocked his room by our Housekeepr to as uslal to clean room and no one respond untill her 4-5 knocking, then after she opened the door and the guy was literally smoking around the room. She reported to the fornt desk manager right away and we went to inquire his room (suppose to checkout by 11.00 o'clock)
6, On our inquiery, have been proved and showed by my house keeper was smoking inside the room, instead of feeling guilty scraming on motel lady owner and started using bad waords and at this point his co-worker also tried to keep on telling his behave your self and this is not way to discuss with Lady Owner.
7, When my house keeper was doing his room as the left found CIGARETTE ASHES ALL AROUND IN THE WASHROOM.
8, We don't understand still what and how much we have to tolerate even after comitting mistake or violation of hotel / motel policy.
9, It is strictly not allow to smoke in non-smoking room and now we have to initiate legal action with all our PROOF and let such a kind people understand or to realise that it is not necessary that waht they want at where at however is possible to do. Absolutley not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Usually, I drive all over the Ontario IN RESPECT TO NATURE OF MY BUSINESS. Due to this, frequently staying in flag or non-flag hotel/motel. During my last visit of Sudbury, I booked a room with Sudbury inn and quite impressed with their complete renovated modern room as it shown on Internet. I was very pleased through out to check inn up to checkout. Room is very well furnished known as "premium Room" and comfortable bedding too. I was little worried about recent review but i could not have such problem. Thanks for having me such a nice room with great hospitality and back again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for one night. The room was very nice and had recently been remodelled. The biggest problem with this place is the stairs. If you have any mobility problems would not recommend this place. There are several steps to get to the rooms if you are on the main floor and entry (with card) can only be done at one door regardless of where your room is. They need to provide additional entry points (with card). The hallways were like a steam room. Luckily the AC in the room worked fine. Have stayed at much better places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sudbury
242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 32 in Sudbury
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 32 in Sudbury
158 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1145 Lorne St | ON, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn
Econo Lodge Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing