We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bakery Ever”

Golden Grain Bakery
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Sudbury
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: This is a Sudbury tradition. Not an eat in restaurant but a family owned bakery with wonderful breads and pies.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Bakery Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Even my parents got the best light and dark rye bread here 60 years ago especially for New Year's Eve parties. We regularly purchase rye bread here. No place can compare. The pastries are great too. My favorite is Easter Bread. The week before Easter Sunday, I call for bake times. At those times I'm there earlier to pick up everyone's Easter present - 6 huge "chef's hat" sized loaves. No reserving allowed. Arrive early or line up. Supplies are limited. They're the best gifts ever - thanks guys for making my gift shopping easier.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“rye bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

if you hit it right in the morning when the rye bread is coming out of the ovens, it's a smell you never forget. Light or Dark rye it is just great, nice soft crust and great bread.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pedneaultrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nothing Compares !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place is as popular as the Big Nickel for people who either live in Sudbury or have lived in Sudbury. No matter who you meet anywhere in your travels if the come from there or have lived there , the name Golden Grain Bakery comes up in conversation. The lineup and traffic this place gets, especially on Sunday cannot be described . Their desserts are excellent but the breads are in a class of their own. Also you must try their white sliced , there is not a place that I have found whether in Canada or US that can even come close to it. As one person has also mentioned , the density speaks for itself, not like the generic brands we get in stores . Make sure you get a rye also, you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfullendorf, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very simple and original, very tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Such wonderful muffins, cinammon buns and other breakfast stuff. They were the best and freshest I had for a very long time! MUST go there when you are in town!!! There is no place to sit, it's just take-away like directly from the oven. So simple but so nice, like at grandma's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepee0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Canada
Level Contributor
352 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Love, love their light rye bread. It's great that you can also purchase it at the grocers, but it's more fun to go in, as the aroma is delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Grain Bakery also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Golden Grain Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing