We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extra ordinary place with ordinary price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley Inn Motel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Timmins, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“extra ordinary place with ordinary price”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked room at this place when all sudbury was booked, I reached at valley inn at 2:00 am. Checked in in no time, found room is better than i expected, better than flaged hotel. Now this is the place for me when i go to sudbury. It is only a bit away from sudbury.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel’s location would have been perfect for us, and the price sounded good, but unfortunately we can’t rate the Room, Sleep Quality, or Cleanliness thanks to this motel operator who sold our reservation to a walk-in before 10 pm! (Either that, or he had overbooked.) We had reserved the room several weeks in advance and specifically said we would arrive late, but we secured it with our credit card so we didn’t worry. The operator claimed our card was invalid, though we’d used the same credit card at least 10 times that day for groceries, fishing supplies, ice, gas, a farmers market, etc. We ate dinner in Sudbury (used the same “invalid” credit card), and then arrived at the hotel to find we had no room. He also justified it because he said he couldn’t reach us. It was true our US cell phone turned out not so reliable in Canada, but we have never been left without a room like this and we’ve never even had a cell phone before. The operator’s wife offered to find a room for us in nearby Chelmsford, but it was their last room too and though they gave us a discount (yep – accepted same “invalid” credit card), it was absolutely by far the worst room we have EVER stayed in. This sort of unexpected shock, after a very long day of travel and in unfamiliar territory, is extremely stressful, even when on vacation.

Room Tip: Do NOT trust this operator to hold your room for late arrival, even with a credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jitendra p, Owner at Valley Inn Motel Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank for your time to write a review when you not stayed at my Motel. You give me a wrong credit card Number to hold your rooms.( may be it was an honest mistake of hearing or writing or giving a credit card number). we called you at your phone number for three times to confirm your arrival, But there was nobody on that phone not even voice mail available on given phone number .Still to respect your reservation, we keep your room till 10:00 PM. and we decide to rent your room to another person because it was our last room left. at 10:15 PM while we renting our last room and you show up. we asked you to find you out a room at nearest place and offer you a rate difference if we have to pay. We tried to help in every possible matter but it is your bad luck that you got not nice room at another place. we are very sorry for all inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel/motel. The room was clean and well equiped. The staff was friendly and very helpful. My TV had a problem and when I called the staff were at more door in two minutes. After not being able to determine the problem they quickly got me another (flat screen) TV and I was relaxing within five minutes after my long drive from Toronto. The price was very reasonable (one of the cheaper in the Sudbury area). This place is not a hole! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuboMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

While we are glad that we picked this place rather than another motel/hotel in the area, it is not a place with any significance. You can see the (new) owner has made attempt to make this a better motel but there is still lots of room to improve. The bathroom in our room is renovated a bit. But you can see that it's sort of a half-[--] job where the base board is falling off may be due to condensation. I don't believe there was a fan in the washroom. The hook on the door is broken so there is no where to hang your clothes in the washroom(I suppose you can put your clothes on the towels rack. The toilet is like a public toilet sea without a cover. The size of the room is big comparing with other motels we have been with 2 double beds. It comes with a fridge and a microwave. What I dislike best about this place is that the sheets were hold. Both the sheets and blankets are full of cigaretts holes. They did made our bed every day but the sheets were not changed in our 2 night stay. Breakfast was just 2 types for cereals(corn flakes or fruit loops), wheat or or white wonder bread, bagels or donuts. Coffee ran out by 9am on our the 2nd day of our stay. There is apple and orange juice from concentrate. Of less than 100$ per night, it meets our expectation. Safety is a mental concern. The motel has various entrances without any locks. But it's a quiet place, we felt safe enough. But we could tell that people were "smoking" a few doors down. The receptionist was not from the area so could not be of much help in giving us direction but definitely friendly. The motel is right next to Tim Hortons, you can walk to it and get a coffee any time. It's only 5 minutes from the Dynamic Earth/Big Nickel. 10 minutes or less to drive downtown one straight road. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I've never snagged such a cheap room. just under $85 with tax. Stayed here while in town for a family wedding. After a night at a hotel in Sudbury, we moved here to be closer to the wedding location (Chelmsford) to cut down on taxi costs. The location is about 20 minutes drive from Sudbury; -10 minutes from Chelmsford.

The orange signs made it very easy to find (especially at night). The lady at the front desk (owner?) was very friendly and polite. We were in one of the renovated rooms. The bathroom was HUMONGOUS. Equal to or bigger than the bedroom. Bed was OK. Lights were nice. Mini fridge worked well, but wasn't very cold. Appreciated the full-size regular iron and ironing boards. Didn't spend much time here, but everything met all of our needs, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraInCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Nice, Clean,Newly renovated and Comfortable accommodation. I impressed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alvis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I can't say enough about this place. Inexpensive but loaded with brand new furniture. I am incredibly impressed with the Ott lights! The bath was wonderful, the Internet excellent.
I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lillian2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#12 of 33 in Sudbury
150 reviews
6.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
249 reviews
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury
6.4 mi away
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
125 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Inn Motel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn Motel Hotel

Property: Valley Inn Motel Hotel
Address: 500 Notre-Dame St E | Azilda, Sudbury, Ontario P0M 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Inn Motel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Valley Inn Motel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Inn Motel Hotel Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing