We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lousy!”
Review of Super 8 Sudbury ON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Sudbury ON
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My family and i stayed there this past weekend and definately didn't enjoy our stay. Don't get me wrong, it's a Super 8, I wasn't expecting a five star, and I'm not particularly picky but the quality of bed and pillows was terrible. We at one point called down to have extra pillows brought up and were told they didn't have any extra pillows?? I guess they were fully booked, a head on every single pillow in the place? I see it as missing an opportunity to provide a little customer service. We had terrible nights sleep which should be a minimum expectation in a hotel I think. We visit sudbury often and I won't return there. Just not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrijane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thankyou for making your comments recently. My Management team and i have reviewed your comments and have put somethings in place to up help us improve on these area's.
Thanks - Steve McCulloch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Sudbury ON
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 538 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

This motel is place well if you are passing through Sudbury, and a short drive to downtown. But the room was very tired, and the front desk service particularly poor. There is a convenient restaurant close by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisOntario.Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Hello
I want to thank you for giving us feedback. I will take your comments and review them with our Management team and work on the area's to improve on them. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed there a few weeks ago and the room was alright, to say the least but came down for breakfast in the morning and it was not very good at all. (not a very good selection at all) also the english muffins were moldy gross!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
I want to thank you for your feedback. We at the Super 8 Sudbury always like to hear how we are doing. One of your concerns was our Breakfast. As a Super 8 Branded hotel, we are required to follow the Brand Standards. Over the course of 2012, Super 8's in Canada will be reviewing their standards. As for the moldy english muffins - i can't explain what had happen, but i am truly sorry for this.
Again, thank you for comments and we will try to not only improve in these area's but all area's of our hotel.
Thanks
Steve McCulloch - General Manager Super 8 Sudbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The only thing this place has going for it is its location.

Staff were unhelpful and unprofessional and my room smelled awful. Can't pinpoint what exactly it smelled like... dirty musty old man? Yuck.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gage L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
I want to say that we are sorry for the way our Team was with you during your stay. I know that we did have some turn over with staffing during that time. As for the smell, we didn't have any other complaints about this, but we will look into it and have it addressed as soon as possible.
Again i want to apoligize what had happen during your stay with us.
Thanks
Steve McCulloch - General Manager, Super 8 Sudbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

On our trip across Canada, the first part of October, 2011, we set Sudbury as the goal for our second night on the road. Our first entrance into Sudbury was very dismal looking. It was an industrial area and even past that the city looked very dirty and run down. We decided to move on to the next town. A few miles down the road we saw signs for another exit and a billboard for the Super 8. As this was a know chain, we decided to give Sudbury another chance.

The motel was a bit run down, but clean. Heater in the room didn't work, but it wasn't that chilly. A free breakfast brunch was as good as offered at other places we've stayed. The cost of over $100 for one night seemed very high. Don't know what other motels were available or what they'd charge. We were tired after two long days of driving and just bit the bullet and stayed the night

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobIr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
Our Team here at the Super 8 Sudbury, always like to here how we are doing. I want to thank you for your comments. We use guests comments to learn and improve on.
Again thank you for your comments.
Steve McCulloch - GM, Super 8 Sudbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night on the way back from a family wedding.
Found this hotel late in the evening, after a traumatic check in and subsequent checkout at the Belmont.
The front desk staff was incredibly friendly. Rooms were clean, smelled good and spacious.
After leaving we realized my daughter had left behind a gift she had received at the wedding. I emailed the general manager who subsequently found the gift, and mailed it to us. Much appreciated and way beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dyefamily1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor, we always like to hear our guests feel about their stay, so we can improve on the area's needed, and praise staff when they do a great job. Again, thanks for your comments.
Steve McCulloch-GM, Super 8 Sudbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a family funeral. My male friend and I had to request a change of room right off the bat, as it was clearly a smoking room and I had requested "non-smoking". The tired but helpful woman at the front desk did give us an alternate room. Smelled better, but not very clean. There was dust on the guest book on the night stand, carpets not too good.
Worst thing was the shower and drainage. I was looking forward to a nice hot soak in the tub at the end of a long day of driving. My friend had his shower, but the dirty water wouldn't drain. It just sat there. Plus the tub was really dirty, dust was floating in the soapy water! I gave up my thoughts of cleanliness until morning, and complained at the front desk about this condition of the room. The same tired woman at the front desk said the hotel is old and needs work, so this was clearly not her first time hearing my complaint. The tub was cleaned but the drainage was never resolved for our two night stay.
Not staying at another Super 8, I think spending a few extra dollars somewhere else would be a better move.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gms8sudbury, General Manager at Super 8 Sudbury ON, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest
I want to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us back in the fall 2011. I am truly sorry for what had happen during your stay with us. I have taken your comments and reviewed them with our Department Managers to see how we can improve on.
I know its too late to correct what had happen, but the Team here is truely sorry for what had happen.
Thanks
Steve McCulloch - GM, Super 8 Sudbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#14 of 33 in Sudbury
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
2.8 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sudbury ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sudbury ON

Address: 1956 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: $83 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sudbury ON 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Southridge Mall, Laurentian University and Countryside Arena Book with our Super 8 Sudbury ON hotel for value and convenience when you are on the road. Our Sudbury hotel offers easy access to Sudbury attractions like Science North and Dynamic Earth, Big Nickel Mine, shopping and restaurants. Start each morning with a free SuperStart continental breakfast, free newspaper and a cup of joe for the road from our 24-hour coffee and tea station. Stretch out and relax in your spacious room with free Wi-Fi, cable TV or room service. Feel free to pull up in your truck or RV - we have ample free parking for any size vehicle and valet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sudbury ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Super 8 Sudbury ON Ontario
Super Eight Sudbury
Sudbury Super Eight
Sudbury Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing