We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just returned from a trip to Sudbury Great and friendly staff!
Room was a great size with 2 double beds which were comfy and clean room..Great breakfast experience at the restaurant in the hotel which was reasonably priced and service was terrific, great location, close to court house, food store and gas station. I certainly have no complaints! I recommend you stay here if visiting Sudbury!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello noarc1,

Thanks for your recommendation! It is great to see yet another satisfied customer. I hope we can accommodate you again in the future.


Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    98
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
65
39
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I just returned from another trip to Sudbury and again the days inn showed me another amazing time! Great and friendly staff! Another great dining experience at the pub and no complaints! Comfy bed and clean room

See you guys in dec!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spears351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello again Spears351,

Glad you had yet another great stay with us! See you in December!

Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile


When I lived in Sudbury this place was called The President. They had a great disco downstairs. All of that is long gone.

I checked out the reviews on TA And the prices I found were very good. I have to admit I was really surprised at how wonderful this place is. I mean, yes, it's a chain hotel and it is somewhat sterile looking. But the room was very clean, there was everything I needed, the bed was comfortable, and I even had a view.

And yes, downtown Sudbury has fallen on hard times. But still, Sudbury is a safe place to be. The hotel is close to everything, And the Staff are professional and polite. (This is starting to sound like a TV commercial!) But really, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi AndrewTO,

The days of the disco are long gone but many memories are still held here. We are glad you had the opportunity to revisit the former President Hotel and see how we have continued to improve the facilities over the years.

Staff and management are always grateful to receive such great compliments from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future!


Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was the cheapest, so I wasn't expecting much. But I was pleasantly surprised. Everything at the hotel was very nice. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good. We didn't spend a whole lot of time at the hotel so I never saw the pool. Its not overy fancy, but I'd stay there anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpriester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Mpriester,

We would love to have you back anytime! Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy all the amenities our hotel has to offer such as our indoor pool and sauna. We have a beautiful mural painted by a local artist on all the walls in the pool area depicting Sudbury’s mining community.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAPLEAU
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Everything was taken care of. There was no dificulty for us. The staff was friendly and well knowledged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Andre B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased everything was to your satisfaction. Our staff strives for 100% guest satisfaction and feedback such as yours acknowledges our staffs efforts.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.


Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been coming to the Days Inn in Sudbury approximately twice a month, every month for more than 3 years now. The length of my stays range anywhere from 1 night, to 3 nights. The rates are very reasonable, the rooms are clean, and I have always found the Hotel to be comfortable and pleasant, and the Staff to be very friendly and accommodating. I live in Hamilton, and therefore travel great distances every month to Sudbury and back. Whenever I arrive at the Days Inn, I am greeted warmly by the Management and Front Desk Staff, as well as other employees...Housekeeping Staff, Maintenance Department Staff, etc., and I can very easily and comfortably carry on a conversation with them all. They always make me feel welcome, and I am quite at ease around them, which really helps after a long day of driving, or in the case of the winter months, a very long day on a bus. It's nice to see a friendly face and smile after a long and tiring day, and that is always what I receive when I arrive at this Hotel. Service unsurpassed!
Carla B.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CarlaB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Carla,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. The staff was thrilled to see your posting and appreciate your kind words.

See you again soon!

Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
724 reviews
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 117 Elm St, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 1T3, Canada (Formerly Days Inn Sudbury)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel in Sudbury, ON is situated in the heart of the city, right next to its main business and entertainment district. Our guests enjoy easy access to a rich variety of shopping and dining venues nearby. If you have friends or family members studying in the city, it will be easy for you to visit them while staying at the Clarion Hotel Sudbury, as all the key colleges and universities of the area including Cambrian College, College Boreal, Laurentian University and the new School of Architecture are located nearby. Every day at the Clarion Hotel Sudbury starts with a delicious breakfast served at our restaurant, the Hardrock 42 Gastropub. Our guests are also most welcome to stop by for a bite at lunch or dinner. If after visiting our restaurant you feel like you need to burn some calories, the onsite fitness centre as well as our indoor swimming pool will be at your disposal. If you prefer to relax in your room before hitting the town or don't feel like checking out any of the nearby restaurants, feel free to order room service from our front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Days Inn
Clarion Hotel Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing