We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, newly renovated and I would recommend it to my mother in law!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“clean, newly renovated and I would recommend it to my mother in law!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I'm pretty picky about cleanliness when it comes to my hotel rooms. When I get to a room I thoroughly inspect the bathroom for hair and I check the sheets on the bed closely. I stayed in the Days Inn for 4 nights in Sept 2011 in 2 different rooms and I have to say I was impressed. It was VERY clean. NORMALLY I find at least a hair in the tub in almost EVERY hotel I stay in. This one was spotless. Kudos to housekeeping. It seems as if it was recently renovated as all the furniture and bedding was newer. The front desk was friendly and they called up after I checked in to see if the room was ok. Nice touch. When I arrived I did worry about my car in the lot overnight cause its downtown but it is pretty well lit with flood lights so they r doing what they can. Overall, I'm glad my company picked this hotel over others in town. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NadiaSudbury, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased to hear you have visited us on two occassions. Our staff take great pride in their work and it is always nice when someone takes the time to acknowlede it. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Nadia Pilon
General Manager
Days Inn Sudbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    94
    50
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
39
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here the weekend of Sept. 27 and really was surprised. Nice clean room with new mattresses and comfy duvets. The hotel has an indoor pool, with a newly painted mutal wihich was done by a local student according to staff. Nice job. The onsite restauant serves a nice breakfast. The staff was very helpful with suggestions of places to see and things to do. Rooms were very clean which is the most important thing. The hotel is an older building recently redone and it loks like they have plans to redo the exterior. Would stay here again. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

It is really a terrible place to stay in terms of security. I have never had such a bad experience in whole my life. My wife's wallet was stolen inside the room while she was taking shower. There were 1000$ CND cash and ID cards and credit cads in the stolen wallet. Its staff and management team were impolite and didn't even accept that stolen was happened in their hotel, without any compassion!. It has really very poor security lock doors with no indoor camera. After we called police for investigating and a report, they told us to leave the hotel where we wouldn't like and trust to stay anymore. I experienced many hotels internationally and in Canada but this one is terrible! I went through their security lock doors manufacturer' website and found out that their security is one of the poorest and cheapest one available in the market and can be opened with other devices provided by the manufacturers in the market. I am really astonishing their management team even didn't want to listen what we were talking and claimed its impossible their doors get unlock and reconfigured (for editing information) by other devices regardless of the information provided by their security lock doors manufacturer. I'll be following the case in the court!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NadiaSudbury, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We at the Days Inn Sudbury are sorry for the loss of your wife's wallet during your recent stay in Sudbury. On the evening of your complaint a lock audit was performed and it was established that the only keys used on the lock were those originally issued to the guest.
We take all security complaints very seriously and when you reported this incident we immediatley called the police. The officer and our maintenance department both confirmed that there was no evidence of any tampering of the lock. Your wife also admitted that she had not left the room and used the deadbolt during the entire stay. After you departed, I personally went through the room myself with the hopes the wallet was accidentally misplaced but unfortuneately it was not found.
We will continue our search but please update us if you are able to locate the wallet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Room was very clean, furniture will need to be changed soon, good channel selection. New restaurant is outstanding, great addition! Good location, central to shops.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDec26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Located in the old downtown part of Sudbury. The Staff was very friendly. The room was clean. Not enough shelf area in bathroom. The pool was old. I liked that it had a fridge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerwithkids3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSudbury-Sales, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Derek Weisenberg
Sales & Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I reserved two nights. I had a regular room and they told me to tell them when I wanted the second room. I had to take a suite because they reserved my room to someone else. You think they would save me the same room I was using. Oh well, still good service. The suite is big compared to the regular hotel rooms. But I was almost forced to take that suite. Should of went on Expedia.ca to reserve my rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebWithoutRats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Each year for the last 20 years or so I have gone to Sudbury, Ontario. This is a mining city in transition to becoming a health, education, government and distribution centre. With a population over 100,000, it is the largest city in Northern Ontario. It is amazing to me to see it transform over the last sixty years from a rough mining town wtih few amenities into a sophisticated, pleasant place to visit. It has great restaurants, parks, and shopping areas. One of the most pleasant surprises I had was renting a suite at the Days Inn.

To rent a suite in Southern Ontario like this would cost me more than $300 night. In Sudbury it was $150 a night. It was very comfortably furnished with a king size bed, two bath rooms, furnished living room, microwave, TV sets in both rooms, daily newspaper, terry cloth robe, etc. The restaurant in the hotel served tasty meals and would deliver them to the room. My wife likes trains. The fact it backed out on the CPR switching yard was a plus to her.

There are several excellent restaurants within a ten to fifteen minute walk e.g. Respect is Burning, etc. Within a ten minute drive is the fascinating Science Centre, Lake Ramsay, Bell Park, Laurention University, etc. The mining presence is still here and it is interesting to see the multi billion dollar infastructure for mining and processing the nickel, copper, iron, gold and platinum. This is one of the largest and most successful mining centres in the world.

Over the years the highway between Toronto and Sudbury has become better and better. Most of it is now four lane highway. It is an easy 3 and half to four hour drive. If you are into hunting and fishing there is a dozens of fishing camps catering to outdoorsmen within a short drive of Sudbury.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 32 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 117 Elm St, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 1T3, Canada (Formerly Days Inn Sudbury)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel in Sudbury, ON is situated in the heart of the city, right next to its main business and entertainment district. Our guests enjoy easy access to a rich variety of shopping and dining venues nearby. If you have friends or family members studying in the city, it will be easy for you to visit them while staying at the Clarion Hotel Sudbury, as all the key colleges and universities of the area including Cambrian College, College Boreal, Laurentian University and the new School of Architecture are located nearby. Every day at the Clarion Hotel Sudbury starts with a delicious breakfast served at our restaurant, the Hardrock 42 Gastropub. Our guests are also most welcome to stop by for a bite at lunch or dinner. If after visiting our restaurant you feel like you need to burn some calories, the onsite fitness centre as well as our indoor swimming pool will be at your disposal. If you prefer to relax in your room before hitting the town or don't feel like checking out any of the nearby restaurants, feel free to order room service from our front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Days Inn
Clarion Hotel Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing