We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were underwhelmed in Several Areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“We were underwhelmed in Several Areas”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The area of Sudbury, where this older but very well maintained hotel sits, is past its prime in some ways. We wouldn't want to wander about after dark, however during the day, we felt quit secure. The parking lot is across the street from the hotel which must present some challenges for baggage transfer on a rainy or snowy day. Check in was pleasant but slow as only one clerk was on duty trying to check in multiple guests.

We found our room very tight but was nicely appointed and clean. They had a scent in the room. It was some kind of air freshener. It was pleasant but over our two day stay it proved to be totally, totally overwhelming causing sleep problems for us.

There is a restaurant on site, where we had dinner on our first evening, called "Little India", reviewed separately. The second evening we ate at the nearby Michele's Cafe, a great value home cooking style eatery.

The hotel offers a typical buffet breakfast. We had some issues here. The selection was decent however we felt that the room itself had some shortcomings. There were windows in the breakfast room that were very dirty. The room is quite large but there were few tables in it. The hotel was not busy while we were there, yet guests stood in line for the few tables. It seemed to us that the hotel was trying to discourage people from having the breakfast.

The person on the front desk was also trying to look after the breakfast room. It wasn't working in terms of keeping things stocked and clean. The food layout was inefficient. Checkout was delayed because of this dual role by the desk attendant.

Based on the reviews, we had expected a little better from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    116
    89
    50
    35
See reviews for
100
106
40
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice hotel, I stayed here for 3 days for work. On arrival I ate at the India Restaurant in the hotel, pretty good food, fast service. Tasty naan's! The hotel itself has a beautiful lobby. Wonderful check in staff. Clean rooms & washrooms, nice LCD TV's. And very affordable rates. I would stay here again! Thank You Best Western for a wonderful stay in Sudbury!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumeet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce Mines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been a regular customer at the Best Western, 151 Larch Street in Sudbury, Ontario for the past several years now. My stays have been mainly for business reasons. We use the meeting rooms for monthly meetings and also training several times a year. I can not say enough on how myself and members are treated so well. It is more like a family atmosphere. The staff always greet you with a genuine smile and go out of their way to satisfy your needs. I do a lot of travelling through Ontario in the South and North and stayed at several motels. I rate the Best Western in Sudbury as one of the best in cleanliness and friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location for shopping and restaurants with everything within walking distance. The Best Western will continue to receive my patronage as it is one of the few places that I sincerely look forward to attending.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A little difficult to get to in downtown Sudbury. While the hotel itself is adequate, I was charged for two nights instead of the one night that I did stay, as a result of an error by Best Western International. After much discussion, am being offered $60 gift card by BW International, which I will not be using! Their policies need to be revisited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyD_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourget, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

nice hotel but it was very noisy in the hallways as our room was close to the vending machines, not a good idea ! breakfast was fine, tea, coffee, OJ, waffles (that was a nice change) and the hotel was clean.

Room Tip: change if you are close to the vending machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenette68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
492 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
717 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville

Property: Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Address: 151 Larch St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville Hotel Sudbury
Best Western Sudbury
Sudbury Best Western
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing