We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

After booking this hotel at the recommendation of a colleague, I was surprised to learn how low the rating was on Tripadvisor (compared to other Sudbury hotels). Wondering what I'd gotten into, I was pleasantly surprised by the functional but modern lobby right in the downtown core (you can't get any closer) to the main Sudbury office towers. Tim Horton's - about 3 mins away!

The room (double bed) wasn't huge, but comfortable and very clean. My room had Group of Seven prints on the wall. Excellent wireless internet speeds, and since i came with two computers, there was no problem in getting a second access code for the second PC. (Note: bring a small power bar, just in case) Free parking across the street from the hotel was included in the rate, and a continental breakfast (bagels, toast, juice, fruit, coffee, tea, cereals, and yes, hard-boiled eggs .)

The staff were extremely pleasant and accomodating, and when i mentioned my 'surprise' as to their rating, they asked if i would provide a review, so here's to keeping my word.

Main Sudbury attraction (Science Noth) is only a couple of km's away.

If you're a business traveller and ever stayed in a standard Delta Hotel room, this is pretty well comparable to what you can expect here.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    110
    86
    46
    33
See reviews for
93
104
38
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

I have been staying at this Best Western since the beginning of April 2008 and I cannot say enough good things about this Hotel.

I stay here 4 days out of the week on business and I find the Hotel Staff is friendly and gets to know your name, they respond to inquires in a very timely manner, the room is very clean and the bed is very comfortable. If you need anything the hotel staff goes out of their way to help you with your needs. As well, I find this hotel is within walking distance of everything that I need while I am here in town.

They even worry about you if you are a repeat client and you don't arrive at your normal time! They are genuinely concerned about you having a great stay at their hotel.

I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends and family if they want a hotel that has good value and a clean and comfortable room.

  • Liked — Clean and Bright Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maxpeck79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

I had a really fine stay at Best Western in Sudbury downtown. The hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet and perfectly situated for me (2 blocks from the Market Place that hosted a very successful Salon du Livre du Grand Sudbury that I went to visit). The cost was very reasonable. Am sending this to thank the staff who were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Good location, cleanliness, nice lobby and rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsTravelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

The Hotel was terrible, the rooms smelled and the entire hotel was DIRTY and had bugs.
The morning breakfast was disgusting, rotten fruit if any and expired products. The Hotel should be removed from the Best Western Chain …. Save your money and go some where else !!!

  • Liked — NOTHING !!!
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank apdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2006

I have been staying at this hotel for the past few years about 2-3 times a year. For the price (it is very affordable), you get a clean, spacious room with a comfortable bed in a good central location. Parking is free (outside), not secured but I have never had a problem.

Saying that, there are some things lacking in the hotel. There is no business centre or gift shop for sundries. Most times I have been there, the vending machines are usually not working. Also, there is now a restaurant but the room service is limited. (Haven't tried yet but have heard great things about the food.)

Again, even though there is a restaurant, there is not that many options outside the immediate area for dining. If you are looking to do some shopping, this hotel is not the best option either since most of the bigger stores and malls are outside of the downtown core. There is a mall about 2 blocks away but there is not a lot of stores inside (there is a theater though) If you using transit, the transit centre is one block away so it is convenient to get to other parts of the city.

Anyway, as long as Best Western keeps their prices low, it is a good value for your money. If you are looking for added perks like a pool or business centre, this hotel is probably not meant for you.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

I have been staying at this hotel through different owners and management for more than 20 years... that being said, I am highly suspect of all the glowing reviews on the board. There is absolutely no way that any business traveller is going to give this place a gushing review. It is very reasonable priced, good downtown location... although most businesses are on the outstkirts or in industrial malls. Staff are friendly, rooms are OK. Parking is a major pain... there are no amenities whatsoever... ice machines are always out of service. There is an great Indian restaurant on the main floor where there was once a prominant local eatery. The Indian cuisine was exceptional, (even by Toronto standards), but I suspect that it won't be there for long. Sadly, the cool beer bistro that used to be at the front of the building is long gone. I cannot imagine where they got the photo in the profile - it looks like an artist's rendering of what the building would have looked like 50 years ago.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Studio_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2005

In July of this year we had a wedding, with out of town guests coming..we booked Best Western about 2 months before hand, for 2 nights, getting a confirmation number and all..but when we arrived, myself and others that had booked , got to the Hotel, we were told that all of the rooms had been cancelled...But nobody could give us a reason, they tried to tell us that it was our fault and we didn't book right...and also we were not tolded about this till we arrived in Sudbury...
I thought this was utterly discusting, we had words with the (manager) i was told, that this lady we talked to was>>i could be mistaken but she also had a very verbal son standing with her...we also got verble with her and ended up telling her where to go...and the son shot right back at us...but never the less..this was not the problem...all family members had no hotel room, what was suppose to be a Great Celebration turned out to be a Great Nightmare...
Never would I ever book this hotel for anyone, or much less stay there myself....not recommended to anybody, not even your confirmation # is anything anymore...
Please people check into this...could happen to you..

Stayed July 2003
Helpful?
5 Thank montana200024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 32 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville

Property: BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Address: 151 Larch St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville Hotel Sudbury
Best Western Sudbury
Sudbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing