We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Last”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hour Glass Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 343 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First and Last”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food at my table was horrible. The cut of meat on one of the steaks was so fatty, it was inedible. The baked potatoes was not fully cooked and so cold that it wouldn't melt the frozen butter. My spouse ate the pork tenderloin and it was over cooked, dry and cold. When our waitress FINALLY came around to check on us, we sent the tenderloin back and advised her that our food was cold she got so defensive and was very rude to us. She was so rude to us that when she left the room, people from the two other tables told us not to worry because they weren't satisfied with the food or her service either. We could actually hear the waitress and chef/cook swearing at each other when the tenderloin went back to the kitchen. The entire experience was lousy and it's too bad because I like to support local businesses and I heard good things about this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizzjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DRTYA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best burgers ever”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Been looking for the perfect burger n mayl have found it finally ! Went twice in a week. First I tried the peanut butter one (without bacon) n t wad amazing. Second time tried the almond n pecan one n was as good. Agree that the goat cheese maybe excessive but they Dont spread it n rather give u the choice. Not only is their innovation in choosing the topings great n creative but the burgers r actually perfect, beef n patty n all. Also had the coconut shrimp starter n found it superb. All with excellent service n nice atmosphere. Even better, burgers 12$ only!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRTYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We left the restaurant feeling as though we overpaid, for sub-par food that the pleasant service couldn't make up for. The cooking staff should ensure that salad greens are fresh prior to sending a salad out to the table. Wilted, evidently old, brown-edged lettuce greens in a $9 cesar salad is unacceptable in any restaurant (especially one whose aesthetic and prices lead one to believe that comparable food will follow). Two tough strips of bacon topped my partner's day-old looking salad, that were impossible to cut with a butter knife, and were evidently pre-cooked and anything but fresh. I would suggest leaving the deconstructed approach to the wayside and focus on food quality instead. I have had grocery store pre-made salads that used fresher, crisper lettuce and bacon.

The carbonara was soupy in texture, not thick and creamy with crispy pancetta like I rightfully expected. The sauce was so thin it tasted as though I was eating plain pasta, the sauce having slipped off with each bite. The pancetta came in a large unappealing chunk of meat. This dish was a waste of a hard-earned $15.

The draught beer selection was another disappointment, as the beer we would have selected (of only two, albeit local brews) was not even available that night.

Based on this dining experience, I cannot believe this place remains open. Great location, and pleasant ambiance, but both will not accomodate for dissatisfactory food quality. I am surprised to read positive reviews here because with so many misses during one dining experience, it's hard to believe that this was just an off night for the Hourglass.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestodine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner with friends”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just attended a 50th Birthday dinner for one of our best friends and her family at the Hour Glass. This was my first visit to this restaurant but I can say it won't be my last. The menu had good variety and they provided a good selection of gluten free dishes. The food was very flavorful with good presentation. Our server was quick and very friendly, overall a very enjoyable evening with friends and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of flavour”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Four friends and I enjoyed good dinners picked off of a creative menu. Many items have a unique twist on the common fare served at other restaurants. The blackened catfish with pico de gallo and guacamole was excellent. I'll probably go back for some of the interesting hamburger combinations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hour Glass Restaurant also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to The Hour Glass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing