We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfy”
Review of Chateau Guay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Guay Motel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This isn't a fancy hotel so all you would hope for is cleanliness and comfort and the Chateau Guay delivers. The restaurant also provides good meals and staff is friendly and accommodating. Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbectraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at this place a few times. If you are looking to save money and have a clean place to stay this is it. I never had problems with anyone at the front desk, they are great, and the home cooked meals in the restaurant are good! It is close to all the major shopping too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband & mother stayed here back in 2007 when they were meeting a flight from Toronto. They thought the motel was good & the food great. We had to go to Sudbury as mother had an appointment for a heart test. We booked 2 nights with 2 rooms. We also brought our dog. The prices were reasonable; comfortable beds; large rooms. We had breakfasts & dinners in the restaurant that were excellent & reasonable price.

Room Tip: Reasonably priced & easy to get to motel. Although highway traffic is heavy you didn't notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The young lady at the front desk is rude and should not be in the hospitality business.

Our group had two rooms and this young lady provided us with incorrect information that could have been easily corrected with an apology. Instead she tried to lie her way out of the situation. Given that the motel is just a basic property I'd give this place a pass unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpsrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This motel is terrible the nonsmoking room smelled like smoke. I asked if we could change rooms the owner said the room rate would double for the same type of room. This is no family motel, stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikepppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Our family had a great stay here during the Ontario Summer Games. The motel staff were very accommodating. Our daughter and myself were in the Summer Games so we needed a room for my husband and 3 other children for 5 nights and then another room for the last 2 nights since our whole family would be at the motel. The staff made sure our rooms were beside each other, which was most convenient since we have some younger children. The rooms themselves were quite roomy and very clean(I felt completely comfortable in the rooms and bathrooms). Everything was updated, we even had new refrigerators delivered while we were there. There was even a microwave in one room, which was very convenient. We always had fresh towels and they delivered extras when we needed them. The air conditioning was a blessing since it was so hot. The beds were very comfortable and the area around was very quiet. For us, the location couldn't have been better. It was right in between the Cambrian College where my daughter and myself were housed and the venue where her events took place. It is also was not far from Moonlight Beach on Ramsey Lake, which was a great place to cool off since it was incredibly hot that week. This motel also has a restaurant with good home cooked meals. To top it all off, their prices are very reasonable (both motel and restaurant). Also, on the morning we were to check out we had some unfortunate and distressing circumstances occur. The owners and staff were very understanding and allowed for the fact that we were unable to check out at the exact time needed. They told us to take our time and even helped with some phone calls we needed to make. This helped us so much. If you are looking for a luxury spa like hotel, this isn't it. But if you want a comfortable, clean, quiet, reasonable and friendly place to stay, then I do not hesitate to recommend the Chateau Guay Motel. We will definitely stay here whenever we return to Sudbury.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akaliseanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Konnekted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury
4.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#20 of 33 in Sudbury
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Guay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Guay Motel

Address: 2865 Kingsway, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 2G4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: $75 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Guay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Guay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Guay Motel Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing