We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another reason to check tripadvisor before heading out!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Fireside Inn
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Another reason to check tripadvisor before heading out!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I needed a overnight hotel. Checked tripadvisor and this hotel came up 4th overall. Couldn't see why a 2.5 star would place #4. The Inn is located on Lorne, you can see the Big Nickel from the parking lot. We booked a double ($98 taxes in) over the phone with no trouble what so ever and a very nice "looking forward to seeing you and have a safe drive." The Inn from the outside is very clean and neatly kept. The Innkeeper was very friendly and informative about directions to where we needed to go. Offered us a upstairs or downstairs room. It's a 2 storey drive up Inn. We stayed on the main level (104-I believe). This is a older Inn -you won't find shiny sleek marble top countertops in the bathroom or flat screen TV's. It is not state of the art. What you will find is super clean, basic, comfortable rooms with full choice of cable and wifi internet (at no extra charge), clean soft, plush towels and a solid flow of hot water in your shower. Parking right at your door. Easy to get to. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
34
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable hotel room,located minutes from any of Sudbury's sites, this is it! The family, who owns and operates the hotel, is friendly, helpful and takes excellent care of their rooms. Little extras like a refrigerator, microwave, plush, non-commercial towels, feather duvets, ample storage space, bedside reading lamps and separate toilet and sink area, make this ideal for overnight or long-term stays. The hotel is located less than 10 minutes from Health Science North for those who have loved ones in hospital. Reduced hospital rates are also available. The microwave and refrigerator also make it possible to prepare simple meals and, thus, avoid expensive restaurant food. I will, definitely, stay here again when in Sudbury.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

This place has been around since I've been around, and I'm from Sudbury. I've never had the chance to stay at a Sudbury hotel since I've moved away--until now. I made my choice based on TripAd. And I have to admit, I was surprised that it was rated so high. I've seen this place on Lorne St since I was a kid, and thought it was just a run-of-the-mill strip motel.

Glad I stayed here. Clean and simple. And I mean really clean. Really really clean. I thought that being this inexpensive that there would be "compromises." Nope. A very comfortable, firm queen bed, a desk, a TV with drawers, a microwave, fridge, and complete bathroom. Free wifi. And the price cannot be beat.

What did I miss? There is no hair dryer or ironing board and iron. The towels are older, and the tub could use reglazing. It was a bit overheated and I couldn't control the heat (so I opened the window). But those are quibbles. This is no-frills without any compromises. Nice hosts too.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 102. I don't know what the others were like, but I imagine they were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KITCHENER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed 6 nights in mid October 2011 and found the host and hostess so accommidating.
They switched our room when we didn't want to do stairs. We had a fridge, micro and reading lamps above the beds. The price was very reasonable. They did their best to help us with every request. The room was clean and cleaned well every day. They care about their motel and it shows. Upgrades are obvious in the room even though the motel is older they work hard to keep it up. Good internet and parking. Comfortable beds. Friendly folks.
Wow.

Room Tip: lower floor has no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenelon Falls Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have stayed in this motel 3 times now and have always been satisfied with the cleanliness and the value. The internet is an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturgeon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a family run motel, rooms are basic but very nice and clean. My boyfriend and I stayed one night here during the Thanksgiving long weekend, the staffs were so helpful and friendly. I saw the owner walking around the parking lot at night to see if there any strangers, I really appreciated that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juljul28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

The owners were very friendly but I had expected more from the hotel after I read the reviews here.
With Expedia it indicates it has a 'roof top terrace' - it does not.
The building has had many many licks of paint over the years which is fine if that is what you like, it seemed to be mainly occupied by construction workers - like the places that offer 'weekly rates'

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n1kkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperial_01, Owner at Imperial Fireside Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
First of all thanks for having time to write something as per your personal opinoin about our motel. We proud to own our property eventhough it is old referred to customer review and we keep trying our best to maintain our property neat and clean from inside to out. We have more than 89% are repeat customer business including among ie; Business class, Contractor, Workers, Travellers, Tourists, Universities, Hospitals and Social etc.

1, Our motel building has no paint because it is BRICK construction, and only original brick color.
2, We have our motel pictures (on expedia) showing it's all angles including top (roof) to bottom and room as well and same we have , there is no manipulation. We do have our priciples for doing our business with 100% honesty and intigrity forever.
3, We proud to keep a reputed (local and outside) company contractors (Manager, Foreman, Lineman, Operator) for their either long or short term project and they have their family too.

What we felt to clarify someone personal review as we have very well understanding that we have not 100% power to either justify or judge someone unless we have any practical experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 32 in Sudbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 32 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
#12 of 32 in Sudbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Fireside Inn

Property: Imperial Fireside Inn
Address: 1111 Lorne St, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Fireside Inn makes affordability and high quality accommodations a reality. We offer you clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price to suit any number of travelers. The Imperial Fireside Inn located almost in centre of downtown (just 4 minutes away). Major attractions (Dynamic Earth, Science North Centre,) are within 2-10 minutes driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imperial Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Fireside Inn Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing