We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor front-desk service rates one star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor front-desk service rates one star”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our third choice for a hotel in Sudbury--both Marriott properties were fully booked. Unfortunately, out stay was marred by our check-in experience at the front desk. The teenage desk clerk was handling an elaborate multi-room reservation for a few weeks hence, but never once looked up to acknowledge us waiting, or to greet us, or to say she'd be with us in a minute. When at last our turn came, her first words were, "Are you checking in?"
When we asked her how much longer food was being served, she replied that she didn't know, and that we'd have to go and look, gesturing towards the lounge. As it turned out, the cut-off was 7:30 PM and we were about 15 minutes too late (that information should be displayed on the hotel website).
In fairness, in contrast to the sullenness that greeted us on arrival, the person who checked us out in the morning was enthusiastic, friendly, and helpful. When will hotels learn that that initial encounter on arrival, especially after ten hours of driving, is crucial to their reputation?
The other deficiency--laughable, though annoying for male guests--is that the toilet seat in our room would not stay upright. I left a note in the suite drawing attention to this problem, but when the manager contacted me for feedback after departure, she had not yet received it. I had mentioned the note in my reply to her but heard nothing more by way of followup. Again, an obvious gap in customer service.
Though everything else about Homewood Suites was all that it should have been, these negatives linger in my mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjames5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear wjames5,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve.

I did receive your email response which stated "Dear Kristina, I left a brief note in the room. Did you receive it? Bill James" I spoke with our Executive Housekeeper to check with the room attendant if any notes had been left. Unfortunately, a note was not passed onto myself.

Thank you for your comment about the lack of attention you received from the Guest Service Agent. I will be sharing your comments at our daily huddle tomorrow to highlight how a quick acknowlegement would have made all the difference. I completely agree with you that the initial contact at the hotel sets the tone for the whole stay and that is something that I try to instill in my team members.

We would love to have another chance to prove to you our services and facilities can meet and exceed your expectations. Please contact me directly to discuss a return stay at kristina.pardaens@hilton.com.

If I can provide any additional information please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Kristina Pardaens
kristina.pardaens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    130
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
228
91
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is our second return to this hotel in a year to visit family in Sudbury. Our group included 2 seniors, 5 young adults and 2 newborns in 5 rooms. The rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious and met all our needs for this short visit. Overall great value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Chenger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are a repeat Homewood Guest.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. If we can provide any additional information or assist with future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Kristina Pardaens
kristina.pardaens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently had the occasion to stay at the Homewood Suites in Sudbury. The hotel is bright and cheery, well kept and most importantly clean, which imho is a must when I travel. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that both breakfast and dinner were included in the price, which you don't see very often.

The room was quite large....there was a fridge, counter top stove, dishwasher, and all the kitchen stuff you need if you want to cook. There was a nice little sitting area with a small sofa, a desk for your computer (with free internet service) and a King bed. The bed linens, pillows and drapes appeared to be fairly new, and the bed was quite comfortable. There was a vanity area separate from the shower room, which was a nice touch. There was also a large closet and inside the closet there was a luggage stand - which oddly enough so many hotels don't have, so I appreciated that. The front desk attendant was friendly and professional when we checked in and gave us all the details about the hotel. It was obvious when the hotel was designed that it was well thought out and it showed. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would mention this when checking it or booking your room as you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northerndecorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear northerndecorator,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the ammenities that the Homewood Sudbury provides.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. If we can provide any additional information or assist with future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Kristina Pardaens
kristina.pardaens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family weekend getaway. The hotel was clean and well kept but our room needed vacuuming. The desk clerk took care of this immediately and gave us a gift card for our trouble. Breakfast was very good. Good value for money. Friendly staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. If we can provide any additional information or assist with future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Kristina Pardaens
kristina.pardaens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel suites are a good size, clean and well-appointed. The staff were friendly and responsive. Great pool for the kids. Not too big, so got a little busy, but well-maintained. Fantastic complimentary breakfast - a nice surprise. Came with hot food items and plenty of food no matter when you ate. Hotel easy to find off of highway and close to local restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Alison S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. I am so glad to hear that you were able to take advantage our pool and free hot breakfast. It's a great way to start your day!

We look forward to having you stay with us again. If we can provide any additional information or assist with future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Kristina Pardaens
kristina.pardaens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean spacious rooms. Very comfortable beds. Access to highway.

Excellent value for the price. The breakfast and dinner specials are very tasty and a nice touch, for being included in the price of your stay.

Staff is well groomed and very friendly.

Room Tip: Studio suites are very comfortable for the business traveller. Private and ample room to work and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear hockleyhussy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We look forward to having you stay with us again. If we can provide any additional information or assist with future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Kristina Pardaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel, while in town for a family visit. We had a king-suite with separate living area on the fifth floor, which was spacious and well-appointed for short or long-term stays with a complete kitchen, including dishwasher. The breakfasts were nicely prepared and offered a good variety of options, which varied both days of our stay, which is appreciated! We will definitely stay here again and know to expect a convenient and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyLee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaPardaens, Manager at Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello MandyLee_7,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings. We look forward to having you stay with us again. If we can provide any additional information or assist with future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Kristina Pardaens
kristina.pardens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
724 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario

Property: Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
Address: 2270 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 0B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sudbury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton, Sudbury is an upscale all suite residential style hotel conveniently situated at the southern gateway to the city of Sudbury. The Homewood Suites by Hilton offers a number of comforts from home such as full size refrigerator, dishwasher, two burner stove and microwave. Start your day with our complimentary Suite Start hot breakfast seven days a week, and Welcome Home reception Monday through Thursday evenings. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario Hotel Sudbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing