We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This is a new hotel. Very clean and rooms are spacious. Reasonable rates that include full breakfast, which was nice. Sitting room with large tv near the entrance was also nice . There was a lot of hockey teams the weekend I visited but hardly heard a noise from my room. The only drawback was that the room did not include a small fridge and microwave, which would be very convenient. Most hotels I stay in have this now.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 769 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

Whenever I have travelled to Sudbury, I have usually stayed at one of the downtown hotels. These are the original hotels from the days when there probably was only three places to stay - and they show their age/history. This time I decided to try the new Hampton Inn at the city's south end and I am glad I did. These new totally non-smoking hotels are a great improvement from the old smoking hotels that have converted (but not lost the smell). This one is relatively new judging from the somewhat tattered "now open" banner hanging on the side of the building. The king room I had was nicely arranged and decorated. The amenities included a flat screen TV, a kind of lap top bed tray thing and the usual bathroom assortment of shampoos and stuff. One thing the bathroom did not have was a tub. In its place was a very large stand up shower. Maybe this is what newer hotels are going for as I doubt many people base their hotel choice on the quality of the bathtub.
There is a breakfast bar with a nice assortment of hot and cold items plus the choice of three strengths of coffee. The exercise room, although a bit on the small size, has a good selection of modern new equipment. Best of all, there was a Globe and Mail hanging on the door in the morning. Anyone who has spent anytime on business travel in Northern Ontario will tell you that a morning national newspaper is indeed a rare treat.
Across from the hotel is an assortment of restaurants (including a Tim Hortons), a Canadian Tire store and a LCBO outlet. The only problem is that you have to cross a busy four lane highway so it is definitely safer to drive the short distance than walk.
There was also a Hampton Suites adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

I stayed 1 night on the top floor, then 2 nights on the fourth at another time. This hotel is quite a step up for Sudbury.

There’s a small pool open till 11pm, but the fitness room next to it is good – and 24hrs. Equipment includes 2 treadmills, a stationery bike, elliptical, LifeFitness multi-function station, fitness ball, a few mats. Sealed windows, but a large portable fan, lots of towels, stuff to clean equipment, flat panel TV, and a water cooler. Your room card gets you into the pool & fitness rooms.

The breakfast room has quality seating, double-high ceiling, and a flat panel TV. Efficient staff member regularly refills items and clears tables. I agree with another reviewer about the breakfast: “something missing”. It’s too processed.

The apple “juice” is a sweetened drink, the mixed fruit salad – which looks great – tastes bottled. Some of the baked goods are wrapped as if for individual sale at a gas station. Warm items are sausage rounds plus an alternating item: one day was processed omelettes, another was cooked eggs for a sandwich with the sausage rounds, another was french toast sticks. There is a microwave to heat those items up. All plates/bowls/utensils are disposable.

The hotel rooms have some great features: flat panel TV, quality bedding, unique light fixtures, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and board in all rooms. Sealed window has sheers and blackout drapes. Heat/air is controlled by a digital wall thermometer. Bright bathroom with shelving under the stone vanity and a curved shower rod.

My top floor room had a high ceiling and faced the highway. In that room, they neglected to put my name on the inside of the welcome card. It was right the 2nd time. My second stay on the fourth floor faced away from the hwy; it had a view of trees. No problems with the cable or wireless internet; staff provide the code with the room card.

Ice and pop machines in a room next to the 2 elevators every floor. There’s a business ctr next to the small snack shop by the front desk. Newspaper delivered to your door. Final day, they put a bill under your door.

Complaints, but nothing to stop me from returning: you must reach over the vanity to use the sink; the long grab bar in the shower gets in the way of enjoying the shower. The single mirror door over the closet seems fragile and just gets in the way. No fridge or microwave. Walls are paper thin; one afternoon I could almost hear what the man in the next room was saying on the phone – and he was not shouting. Room walls have good quality, but generic prints; local photos are only at the front desk. Info on the back of room doors refers to "state law", signage at the pool is English only.

A Swiss Chalet is now across the street, but it can be treacherous crossing that 4 lane hwy. Pizza Hut is sort of next door, and there’s East Side Mario’s and Tim Horton’s nearby.

Handy to the highway, this is in the very south end of Sudbury. I’m already booked to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I travel to Sudbury regularly and have always stayed at the Comfort Inn across the street. This hotel was far superior for about the same cost. For some reason, Sudbury is very expensive compared to other areas in Ontario. I would definitely stay again as the staff was great, the room was good and there are plenty of restaurants locally. A nice touch was a thank you card from the hotel manager on my arrival both times - I have stayed here twice.
A top notch hotel in a handy location that Sudbury needed!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stilltravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Sudbury was definately in dire need of new hotels and they just got another one.........Nice modern rooms with free internet and complimentary breakfast. Don't hesitate - no problems here. Would definately recommend and will definately be back.

Hilton has put this one up and also their other brand of Homewood Suites right beside each other. Bed/covers & pillows were very comfy .........and that is important for a good sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank okop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

This is now my favourite place to stay in Sudbury. Coming into town for business alot means I want to be comfortable and they meet the expectations but at a cost $. The king rooms are bigger than normal, have primo bathrooms complete with walk in showers. The rooms themselves have for the first time in my travelling life - a real clock radio that has station presents, nature sound for sleeping and connection for Ipod/MP3 players - nice touch and it worked great. They also have flat screen TVs, but no movies, videogames or DVD players. The work station is large, with outlets for once right there above the top of the desk. There is a pool but is small; the exercise room is decent for the size of hotel. There is a business lounge open to the lobby and you get a Globe&Mail every morning at the door. Checkout is automatic with the slip under the door the morning of departure and the staff are really helpful.

They do have WiFi, but the system is so secure, that even their tech department could not get me connected after 1/2 hr; very frustrating as I was in town for 4 nights - it is great to have secure connections but if it can't be accessed you might as well not have it; even the plug in did not work and the staff stay it is a problem. The Hampton Inns also pride themselves in offering hot breakfasts that are included (dont worry, you pay for it). I have had hot breakfasts at other hotel locations included and they were all better; this one lacked somewhat and needs refinement and improvement.

As long as I can figure out how to connect to the WiFi, I will stay again. I would love to see the suites too.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Northerntraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank lies d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel M, Manager at Hampton Inn Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#8 of 33 in Sudbury
529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
2.9 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sudbury

Address: 2280 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 0B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sudbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range: $105 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton, situated at the Gateway to the City of Sudbury with warm furnishings, comfortable surroundings and meaningful extras...We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sudbury Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing