We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should have been a 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've sat on writing this for a few weeks because I wasn't sure what to make of what should easily be an excellent rating. In the end, it comes down to this: corporatization. I'm originally from Sudbury, and staying in this place made me feel like I could be anywhere--which is the same thing as nowhere at all. Making someone feel like they're not in a place as distinct as Sudbury is no mean feat.

Perhaps it's the exterior of the hotel, and the one next to it, Homewood Suites. They look as forbidding as one of those Bell Canada buildings, so bland as not to be noticeable, but sinister in that branded, secretive sort of way. This feeling carries right into the lobby, the elevator, the hallways, and, finally, the room.

The staff at the front desk were simply excellent, though, and the complimentary breakfast was fantastic. I used the cardio equipment, and it was great. One sour note was the presence of beer cans outside the elevator on my floor. There were, two nights in a row, about seven people down the hall sitting in the hallway drinking and laughing. I mean, really? The second night (when the beer cans appeared), I went out into the hallway and politely told the people to take it elsewhere. They did. Just to be sure, I called down to the front desk to register what was going on, and the person said he would check on it. If he ever did, I don't know; but the beer cans were still there in the morning.

I slept as well as anyone might in a hotel like this. The overall feeling, though, was that the entire experience was akin to going to Starbucks: great product but ephemeral feeling. Where am I? Who knows? Sudbury? Colorado? Finland?

Room Tip: Stay on the south-east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 769 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

A positive experience at the Hampton Inn in Sudbury. Rooms were clean, hotel staff were friendly and room cleaners were very hospitable. Breakfast was probably the weakest point. Good selection of items, but hot foods were average at best. Stayed here about 2 years ago and breakfasts were better then. One of the better affordable hotels in Sudbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Loved our stay. Staff was great. Fresh fruit throughout the hotel. Originally booked for one night but were forced to stay an extra night due to poor weather conditions. There were no issues with this. The hotel is located close to many restaurants which made it a good spot to be in a blizzard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank OntarioChuckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I find their beds are the most comfortable. Staff is always friendly. I travel to a lot of the same cities for work and will stay at the same Hilton hotels every time, so I notice when they upgrade/improve their rooms, which is rather consistently!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very good hotel. Quality adequate to the price. Good located. Rooms are quite. Rooms heated with fans, but it works quite. Breakfast OK, but in American style :( Food is not warm enough. It was just one night, but I will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I travel for my job...alot. I sleep in multiple properties each year and it is imperative that I have a good nights sleep. The Hampton Inn in Sudbury, Ontario truly left me feeling well rested each night. The pillows and beds are fantastic both for comfort and for cleanliness. Kudos to the staff for friendliness and care. I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnyseG, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great customer service. Clean, good value and friendly. Upon arrival we were given the wrong room (we had made a reservations with 2 different rooms). The Front Desk clerk had no trouble switching us immediately! The full hot breakfast in the morning offered lots of choices. Hopefully next time we'll take advantage of the pool and gym facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
2.9 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sudbury

Address: 2280 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 0B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sudbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range: $106 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton, situated at the Gateway to the City of Sudbury with warm furnishings, comfortable surroundings and meaningful extras...We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sudbury Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing