We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wings”
Review of Boar's Head Pub

Boar's Head Pub
Ranked #29 of 142 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Southern Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Wings”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

So, its a small town bar with the standard small town feel. The locals took over for a Dart nite but we had the best wings I've had in a looooong time. You are not coming here for the ambience or a quiet evening. You are here for wings, beers, darts. It thats the goal you will not be dissapointed .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank amigo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    91
    34
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not "very good" but good enough to be the local pub favourite”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This pub has what it takes to be known as a "pub" and not a bar. Old guys watching sports, a local playing darts, a million beers on tap. It's not the least bit pretentious and you'll definitely be made to feel warmly welcomed. The food is pretty decent but mainly this is a place to hang out with pals and share a few rounds. The patio is large but has a total lack of ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Outdoor Service Nice for a Summer Evening”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We njoyed a lovely twilight dinner on the patio of the Boars' Head. It was too hot indoors so we had a small table overlooking the traffic on Ontario Street. The portions were plentiful as was the numerous beers. Living up to the "pub" name they had many local and regional Canadian beers and this was a plus. The service was good and both indoors and outdoors was crowded and this was a week night after the theatre performances had started- around 8 pm. The only downside was that on the patio, the wait staff has trouble keeping the place really clean. They work at it- but
it was stlil a bit grungy.
We enjoyed the meal , it was resaonably priced and good sized portions. We would go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triptique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The break between afternoon and evening plays”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Since we stay at The Queen's Inn and often see plays both in the afternoon and the evening, The Boar's head is the absolutely perfect place for a great pub supper.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthHavenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

By far my favourite pub in town, great food, and wing night is Wednesdays (VERY BUSY). Servers are generally very nice and the service is always fast. We frequent there at least 3-4 times a month. It is a staple for us and our friends to meet up there. Battered mushrooms and the Boar burger are my favourites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdoSkidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boar's Head Pub also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Boar's Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing