We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bakery needs a separate section”

Pazzo Taverna and Pizzeria
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Bakery needs a separate section”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

*caution* The pizzeria is nice and down in a cool basement, the bakery is relatively new and the layout and food is not the same.

So for Pazzo:

I'm sure they have stuff other than the pizza and mussels but I've never ordered it. When I'm in Stratford I just want quickie food. The mussels have always been done nicely, at $12 as with any mussels in a restaurant they're too expensive but that's life.

The pizza is great, thin crust that sometimes borders on pita-like. Coupled with their kitchen-made chili oil it's something you wolf down and rarely regret even on a hot day.

Back in the day they'd sell you the chili oil, the last two times I had it given to me when I asked. It's nothing you can't make at home, but they get a reddish colour I can't.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    276
    94
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best picnic at Pazzo's The Bakery”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We grabbed a picnic to go on this beautiful sunny afternoon, and loved every bite. The service was friendly and inviting. We waited while a fresh sandwiches were prepared, and everyone - customers & staff - were relaxed and chatting. Lunch was 2 lovely panini sandwiches, with quinoa salad and potato salad with San Pellogrino's. Maybe more than we needed, and more money than we needed to spend, but we didn't mind a bit, sitting by the river watching the world go by.
Perfect location in town by the river too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal at Pazzo”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pazzo was recommended to us by our hosts, Mike and Helene at the Blue Spruce B&B. The night was blustery with a chill and we were happy to find this cozy, intimate dinner spot. We ordered the Kim Crawford wine to sip with the complimentary house made bread. We ordered the parsnip soup, which was so flavorful and perfect for a starter. We decided to split a Marco Pollo pizza on whole wheat. It was fantastic and just the right size for two with an appetizer. We finished off with a real treat - the lemon semifreddo with almonds and candied lemon zest. Light, satisfying and a great finish to our dinner. The service was very good. This would be my go to place for a date with someone special or just to treat ourselves to a great dining experience - great value, too. It was hard to choose as the menu is so interesting. Guess we will just have to come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBherewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yep it is a good place”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was nice to drop into a place get a good meal at a fair price. Fancy enough - enough variety. Really friendly server.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Antipasto Ever”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great ambiance, terrific service and the antipasto was to die for. I've eaten here half a dozen times and have never been dissapointed by the service, the food or the wine. If you want to impress that special someone this is the premier place to take them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzo Taverna and Pizzeria also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Pazzo Taverna and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing