We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madelyn's Diner

Madelyn's Diner
Ranked #37 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Madelyn's is a diner in the true sense of the word. Not fancy but great food. We were in Stratford last week and usually splurge and go out for a big breakfast once while we are there. We happened upon Madelyn's early in the week and went back twice more because the breakfasts were so good. Everything is homemade and delicious. I had an omelet filled with asparagus and swiss cheese and topped with hollandaise sauce, fabulous! The butter tarts are made fresh every day and go fast. They have several different kinds, including bacon butter tarts, so good. We will definitely go back there next time we are in Stratford and maybe try lunch. We heard that the fish and chips are the best in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank separateentity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    58
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the Fries!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food was excellent. I recommend the fries. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was fantastic. Overall it was a truly wonderful place to eat

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Order the fish and chips. Simply delicious!!! Wait staff very friendly and happy to assist with travel directions. The owner, Madelyn, is a treat to talk to and has a delightful sense of humor!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renewme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent fish, yummy tarts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to Madelyn's by default/poor planning. We were reluctant to go in as it lacked....curb appeal shall we say. Our hungry bellies got the better of us despite the place looking very dated and a tad grimy. I decided to play it safe and ask what was popular. "The fish n chips n butter tarts". Sold! Fish portion was generous and cooked perfectly. Coleslaw was just how i like it, a bit tart and not sweet (like KFC). Fries were good but nothing special. Full as a tic but split a tart and glad I did. Took 4 to go including one with bacon. My son text me twice after he ate it to tell me how amazing it was. Rice pudding was a bust. Take cash. Use bathroom before you arrive. Sanitize hands afterward. Yes I'd go back! Overall rating is based only on food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 155019Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent diner with great tarts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Madelyns is an old fashioned well worn diner where you can get a fair sandwich at a fair price and a terrific tart.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank javo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madelyn's Diner also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Madelyn's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing