We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Stratford Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madelyn's Diner

Madelyn's Diner
Ranked #35 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Favorite Stratford Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I live to having a wonderful dining experience at night, but in the morning, I love a good diner. Madelyn's fits the bill perfectly. It's a slice of small town, yester-year, and the staff and clientele are charming.

The portions are often too much for me, but the breakfast menu is solid country fare. I always choose the local sausage for my side. Worth the visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    58
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent fish (cod) and chips Excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

1/2 mile down Huron street away from town. Non chain. Ask any local and would recommend it. Looks downscale inside and outside, but good home cooking inside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne ON
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Madelyn's "D" Minus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a few days in Stratford and because of many positive reviews we went for breakfast one morning arriving shorly after they opened. We were greeted cordially but did not seem to be a genuine friendliness. After placing our order, we started looking around. The table legs and chair legs which were chrome did not appear to have been cleaned in who-knows-how-long, The condiment holders (napkins and sweetners) were dirty as was the table top around the condiments so obviously there had not been cleaning done and the floor also did not look fresh.and all this was 15 minutes after they opened for the day !
We are still trying to figure out what my wife's scrambled eggs were. They had neither the texture or appearance nor the taste of scrambled eggs - more like eggs with the yolk broken and then fried on the griddle. My toast finally came when I was near finished. As well the coffee was very, very, weak and tasteless ! We saw the butter tarts by the cash register but after the experience we had just had - no thanks ! Our first and for sure our last visit here !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Old-Grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing beats Madelyn's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Year in and year out, Madelyn and her team serve up the most robust wonderful breakfast in town. Omelets, pancakes, Oatmeal, everything with her famous crispy home-fries. This is the place where farmers and actors, visitors and locals all gather in the morning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank janet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ah, BUTTER TART!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The only regret I have is not discovering this place until our last day! We had breakfast- good! Had pecan butter tart - my first and OMG!

Then had the privilege of meeting the creator! What a wonderful experience. Do yourself a favor -- go here!

Thanks Madelyn!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madelyn's Diner also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Madelyn's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing