We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips”
Review of Madelyn's Diner

Madelyn's Diner
Ranked #37 of 134 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stratford, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Madelyn's is the quinetessential diner - great menu - excellent fish and chips and pie.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TerryStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    61
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent fish but barely any chips”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Ordered the fish and chips. The piece of fish was large and well cooked, but there were hardly any fries (esp. considering the price). Killer butter tarts, though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasonrothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very rude owner”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Asked waitress for fried potatoes, was told the owner said no. Asked to speak to owner who was very rude to me and my guest referring to him as "this one".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloom1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great family diner”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

When you need a break from the downtown restaurants and yearn for the down-home feel and quality, here's the diner to go to. Always a MUST whenever we're nearby.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 1750Spider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Eat Here - Horrible!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This place has gone down big time - we had coupon for buy one fish and chip - get one free - I have more of these coupons however I have no intention of using them - the food is horrible.

The fries were not cooked through - the fish was so-so - the coleslaw was one of the worst I have ever tasted and then we had the nerve to order dessert - homemade!!!!!!

I ordered banana cream pie and my spouse coconut cream - well at least his was creamy even if the crust was not baked - white in colour - but mine - I left it - could not eat it - the banana cream was not cream - it was a hard square blob which you could hardly cut through - all one piece and rubbery would be the only word to describe it and no taste at all.

I will never return to this diner.

Even the waitress left something to be desired - no service for quite some time when her mom came in for a takeout order - more important to talk to her - I had to flag her down after a long time to ask from coffee refill and tea refill which she did reluctantly and when I complained about the food her reply was well better luck next time!!!!!!

I told her there would never be a next time.

We have alot of restaurants in Stratford and just about every one of them would be far superior to this place.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madelyn's Diner also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Madelyn's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing