We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but be patient!”
Review of Let Them Eat Cake - CLOSED

Let Them Eat Cake
Cuisines: American, Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, but be patient!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice little place that I frequented for breakfast. Everything takes time--a lot of time--from being seated, to placing your order, to paying your bill. I thought it was just me, but then noticed everyone is kept waiting as they always seem to be short-staffed.

The waitresses are very friendly, however, once you do get seated and served. It's very busy at breakfast but the meals are worth the wait. If you are a guest at the adjoining Albert St Inn, you get a 10% discount.

Nice place if you aren't in a rush.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justaguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“BetterBuns than breakfast”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was our first visit and we had breakfast. The place was busy and the staff kept up. This was a pretty basic breakfast as the clue is how a place does home fries: fresh-cut potatoes, onions, maybe some red pepper bits. Not here. They use McCain hash browns. Booorrring. The bakery is something else. I am a pushover for cinammon buns and they did not disappoint. i just had to look at them and was satisfied. Skip the breakfast here; just have coffee and some of the baked goods.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromChathamOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been here twice. One was a suggestion from a friend visiting from out of town who liked the name. The second was a suggestion from a friend who also lives in town who likes the chicken pesto. I will not be back. The food is below average, the service is slow (even when it is not busy) and the atmosphere is outdated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sokk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breafast”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good food, quick kitchen, nice ambiance, good service. A nice way to start the day. And the baked goods, awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Every year, we go to Stratford to catch some plays, wander along the beautiful river, check out some shops and have some nice meals. For years, we have usually included this restaurant in our plans. It was always a great place to go for terrific desserts or a hearty breakfast in a nice, casual atmosphere. Then the restaurant relocated a few blocks away, attached to a hotel, and it seems to have gone downhill. The meals are still ok, but the range and quality of the desserts have really diminished. You can usually still find a nice muffin or scone, but whatever happened to the cakes? Once upon a time, you could select from a dozen or more tall and decadent varieties that served as a meal unto themselves. Now, they seem to offer only a selection of wrapped squares or cookies. For a dessert-junkie like me, this has been difficult to accept. We keep going back, fueled by the memories of sugary days gone by, but... sniff...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 448andyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Let Them Eat Cake also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing