We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy curry!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Down The Street Bar & Cafe - CLOSED

Down The Street Bar & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, International, Healthy, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Susan Dunfield has retired Down The Street is now under new ownership
London, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

When you first enter it seems more like a bar than a restaurant. We were immediately put at ease by our server and enjoyed a wonderful dinner with drinks!
My friends had the prime rib and linguini and I had the pork curry. It had a great variety of spice and flavor. I highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheryl401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    53
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not to be missed on visit to Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Since discovering "Down the Street" a few years ago, I always try to have dinner or a drink there. Food is always very good and a bit different from your average bar/restaurant. Not inexpensive, my last appetizer and glass of wine was CAD $26 plus tip but worthwhile. There are indoor and outdoor tables and I was told it is one of the few places that stay open until late on theatre nights. Friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FelizPortenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
“A Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were so looking forward to a return dinner at Down the Street but we're very disappointed by the poor service . When I complained about my overcooked and cold steak the maitre d' gave me a lengthy explanation about a steak cooking after it is removed from the burner .....then don't leave it on for as long .We were two couples and we gave our server two credit cards to pay our bill . We discovered that he was charging each of us for almost the entire bill. He had made a mistake in his calculations . Again the maitre d' chose not to apologize ..or offer us a coffee for the error . Instead she blamed us for not asking to have the bill split . ....? Hard to understand why she couldn't have just apologized for th error and done something to appreciate our patronage .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiegToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,396 reviews
777 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 817 helpful votes
“Food and service fine; atmosphere not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have lunched here several times before theatre performances, but last week dined here for the first time. We shared the scallops as well as a dessert; I had the curried pork, my wife had a quasi-oriental dish. We were more than satisfied with the food, and the service was very friendly, but we did not appreciate the music. I'm not sure why canned music is thought to be necessary in restaurants, but as long as it is unobtrusive we can live with it. Last Friday it was simply too in-your-face. What made it worse is that it featured a steady and extremely boring beat. Even though it was raining cats and dogs when we left, it was a relief to leave that thump-thump-thump behind.

It should be said that none of the other patrons,many of them young, seemed bothered by the noise. Perhaps their ears have already been damaged to the point that they don't notice it?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

As locals, we have been to most of the restaurants in town several times, but almost forgot about this restaurant. We decided to try it before the theatre and we were pleasantly surprised. We all had something different and shared some of each entree and we loved everything. We will definitely remember this restaurant next time we eat out. It is small and you must have reservations in busy periods (pre theatre).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfootcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down The Street Bar & Cafe also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing