We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Restaurant, Charming Atmosphere”

Demetre's Family Eatery
Ranked #35 of 135 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant, Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family has eaten at this restaurant many times. Service is friendly and prices are much better than some of the upscale restaurants in Stratford. It seems everyone of all ages in our family, from two to 85 can find something they like on the menu. I have always enjoyed the chicken souvlaki...skewered chicken and Greek salad.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    64
    35
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than a great diner.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I thought this would be a diner but it is both upscale more elaborate. The kitchen was excellent, the menu diverse and the prices low. The dining room was comfortable and service was fine. I liked it a lot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family restaurant with friendly staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had breakfast at Demetre's. The servings were generous, with real home cooked potatoes! The pancakes, eggs and bacon were good. Our waitress was attentive to our requests and seemed genuinely happy to be serving her customers. We were a little surprised that they did not have a breakfast special at a lower price and that is what put it in the average rating, rather than good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a lovely family restaurant with food that tastes home cooked! It has charming décor and a relaxed feel. The prices are reasonable and they serve a variety of food, with many of the specialties being Greek cuisine. If you love Greek food this is the place to try! They are used to the theatre crowd and try to accommodate the time. A very pleasant dining experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chika52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Here just after the lunch hour rush. Nice location, good food, ( the tomato soup tasted like home made, NOT out of the can) very reasonably priced. Service good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demetre's Family Eatery also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Demetre's Family Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing