We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proximity, nice owners, clean”
Review of Majer's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majer's Motel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed during a September 2011 trip to the Festival because every other hotel, motel, and B&B was booked for miles. Staying in Stratford was a big plus, room was clean, and the owners nice. Downsides were the lack of drawer space and some truck noise from the road.

Room Tip: Further from main road so less traffic/truck noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLoveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were attending a play at the Festival Theatre and found that all the down hotels were either booked full or charging higher rates than we budgeted for. We ended up booking a night at Majer's Motel. It's located on the main road into Stratford coming from the east. The grounds are very well kept, and although we didn't use the pool, it also looked to be in good condition. The room we got was not very large, but it was clean and comfortable. The motel is a short drive from the Festival Theatre. A continental breakfast of muffins, coffee, tea, and juice is included.

Nobody is going to mistake this place for a luxury hotel, but for a motel, it's the best one I've ever stayed at. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The Majer's Motel is a wonderful place to visit for a night or two - and to stay for a week. I have been staying every August at the Majer's Motel since the late 1970s when I visit the Stratford Shakespeare Festival. Arduman and Santosh Bajwa are welcoming hosts. They take care of your needs, but also do not smother you with attention that you don't really need. They have always been helpful, particularly by allowing me to swim in their very nice, heated pool, both when it is open and when I ask for special permission to swim. I have to say that I consider them to be my friends and I really look forward to visiting them each year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wameiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Be leery of the glowing reviews above that promise 'clean' rooms that look as though they'd just been refurbished. Ha! Our room was dingy & actually shabby, with an old-fashioned window-sized air conditioner that blasted about 2' (less than a meter) from our heads (it was hot & humid!), making sleep a bit of a challenge. The bathroom fixtures were only adequate but they, too, were definitely from another era and in need of replacement. Most disturbing, though, was what passed for 'wiring:' I noticed an extension cord under the bed with the over-the-bed lamp & the clock radio plugged into it, indicating an outdated and inadequate electrical system also very much in need of renovation. Whether this is in code or not I don't know, but it did not give us confidence in the soundness of the building. We will not return.

Perhaps some of the reviews of Majer's are fiction: one review cited the speedy 'room service.' Are you kidding? This place doesn't even have a kitchen or restaurant, let alone room service!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoSloJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our Ball club had the opportunity to stay at the Majers Motel this past June and I was pleasently surprised.. The room was clean and very large, beds were comfortable and the price was right for Stratford. The girls enjoyed the swimming pool and the help there were awesome!! We decided after staying there in June we rebooked for July as our Qualifier was in Stratford. and again in July I had a great time!! I would highly reccommend this Motel for everyone!! Thanks for a great time!!
Desboro Minor Ball

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debmc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Upon registering we had nothing but a welcoming experience. The staff were great even when I had to call around 11pm for extra pillows and soap with that I got them in two minutes!! The room that we stayed in was very clean and the carpet and the furnishings looked very new. The shower had good water pressure and the tub was shined clean. We loved the outdoor pool and that was totally relaxing. The atmosphere of the motel inside and outside was very peaceful and enjoyable. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

A great price for a great motel! clean rooms, speedy room service, easy to find and a fun pool! quiet place but easy to get to downtown Stratford. i highly recommend staying here when visiting Stratford Ontario and area.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLSvrcek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#11 of 18 in Stratford
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
182 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majer's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majer's Motel

Address: 2970 Ontario Street East, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stratford
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: $64 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Majer's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful setting just on the edge of Stratford, Ontario, Majer’s Motel offers thirty-one comfortable and affordable rooms in close proximity to theatres, shops, restaurants, and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Majer's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majer's Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing