We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stratford Festival

Stratford Festival
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stratford Festival, North America's largest repertory theatre festival, features plays by Shakespeare and other top playwrights each season in Stratford, Ontario, Canada.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I saw Waiting for Godot and I loved it. Stratford Festivel is an awesome experience. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigDevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,303
    171
    38
    20
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a joy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have come many times to the Festival. It is just lovely. Most of the theaters are small and you feel so close to the actors. The productions are just excellent, changing every year. Enjoy the downtown shops on a quiet afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fiddler from Sept 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was a great show- great music and acting. Theatre is always well kept and all seating has a good view. We have been multiple times and enjoyed every view.
This particular evening was VERY rainy outside..when leaving exit (side towards park)-lighting was poor and side exit was dangerous to walk outside- slippery steps. Maybe should close this exit when weather is nasty?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stratford Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Stratford Festival is "THE" place to visit during the summer. World class theatre. I have never been disappointed and I try to see all the shows during the season.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctiltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“When it is excellent, it is outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Stratford, so ignore the What sort of visit was this, and When did you visit sections. Like any theatre company, each season brings its highlights, and its less than successful ones. For most productions you can wait for the reviews. However, some sell out very quickly, especially in the Tom Patterson and Studio venues, so don't wait too long. And the added bonuses are the really good restaurants here, shopping, and the green spaces. If you are coming for a while, travelling over to Lake Huron (Goderich, Bayfield) will be an added bonus.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stratford Festival also viewed

 

Been to Stratford Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing