We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Romeo where art thou ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratford Festival

Stratford Festival
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stratford Festival, North America's largest repertory theatre festival, features plays by Shakespeare and other top playwrights each season in Stratford, Ontario, Canada.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oh Romeo where art thou ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was rather wooden performance with some strong acting from Juliette but others were weak. Lighting was totally monotone and could have been so much better. should have gone to Tommy !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    170
    38
    20
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Theater is brilliant - town - meh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been going to Stratford for many years. The theater is excellent. Something always astonishes us (this year, Iago broke the 4th wall - making Othello an intimate experience!) The hotels are adequate at best - overpriced for the level of comfort and service. But, then again, they only have six months to make money. Same for restaurants - some gems (The Keystone Alley Cafe, Boars Head Inn, Raja, Cafe Ten) but others are overpriced with boring menus and inconsistent service (The Parlour, Downie Street Burgers). But everyone tries very hard to please and. if you just keep in mind that it is a resort town with a limited season, the plays will make up for any other inconveniences. Especially when you buy a membership and get 15% or more off the tickets by buying early!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruiserillinois11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Measure for Measure - terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

A friend and I had a delightful day in Stratford, visiting our favourite haunts and enjoying "Measure for Measure" at the Tom Patterson Theatre. In the absence of elaborate sets/scenery/costuming, the actors must demonstrate their prowess in setting the scenes and delivering the story. The whole cast did an excellent job of conveying the essence of the play in conventional garb, focusing on the hypocrisy of the Duke's substitute; kudos to all the lead characters, and the "character" actors, for a wonderful portrayal of the story. Not having reread the play before attending, I was enthused to see the various plot twists and turns worked out!
The programme notes were also helpful in amplifying the critical aspects of the story. As usual, Shakespeare has great stories to tell, and the Stratford Festival 'does' them so well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L0RNA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of the best performances of Romeo & Juliet I have ever seen. The entire cast were outstanding! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The song at the start of the second act was one of the most beautiful things I have heard in a while.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolphustown, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romeo and Juliet a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked in to see this play, but it was a real hu-hum performance. Romeo just wasn't believable in the role. The best performance, and the only real passion came from Capulet, Juliet's father. Tom McCann started off strong as Friar Lawrence, but just seemed to e going through the motions in the final crucial act. Very disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SueK0H1G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stratford Festival also viewed

 

Been to Stratford Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing