We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect!”

The Prune Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prune Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 140 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nile Street
Description: Contemporary Canadian cuisine under the creative guidance of Executive Chef Bryan Steele which celebrates the bounty of local producers and growers. Innovation and creativity explores world cuisines while the classics are presented in new and sophisticated ways to create an uplifting and memorable dining experience. The wine program showcases boutique labels from both local and international growers, and our front-of-house team offers elevated service in a casually elegant style. We pride ourselves on every guest feeling welcomed and fulfilled long after their dining adventure.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th anniversary by attending the Stratford Festival and eating at some of Stratford's better restaurants. Our dining experience at the Old Prune was hands-down the best in Stratford, and definitely among our best ever.

I had noted the nature of our visit on the Open Table reservation, and all of the staff congratulated us as we arrived. The service was impeccable - all staff (esp Alex) were friendly, polite, attentive but not obtrusive. The food was incredible - perfect temperature and texture, well portioned, flavourful but not overpowering. The black cod was unbelievable, just perfect in every way. They have an extensive wine list, but wanting only a glass each with dinner, Alex guided us to a very nice accompaniment.

At the time, I felt the cost for our meal was very reasonable; after dining at another local, long-established restaurant the next evening, I now feel that The Prune offers exceptional value. Overall, this was one of our best dining experiences ever, and we were so glad to have enjoyed our anniversary dinner there. If we ever return to Stratford, we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CanadianSoldier114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley W, Manager at The Prune Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

CanadianSoldier114,

Thank you so much for your comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your trip to Stratford, especially to celebrate as important an accomplishment as your 25th anniversary - a feat that our staff are always happy to recognize. We are glad that we could create a special evening for you and your wife and are grateful for your high praise of our culinary offerings and our service. We pride ourselves on offering exceptional value with both our menu and our wine list and are glad that it is a sentiment you share. We hope to welcome you back next year.

Thank you for choosing the Prune Restaurant!

Regards,

Prune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Boy were we lucky to have.stumbled upon this pace while we were driving in to Stratford! Everything on the menu was amazing. The zucchini salad with edible flowers was my favourite. Service was terrific, and the restaurant is charming. What more could anybody want from a restaurant for dinner? How about free samples of appetizers and asperatives from the talented chefs in the kitchen! One chef even came to our table to wish us Bon Appetit!

Definitely will come back again!

Thank KokaneeYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley W, Manager at The Prune Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

KokaneeYYZ,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you stumbled upon us too! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Prune. Our amuse-bouche and petit fours are always favourites amongst our guests and add an extra level of culinary excitement to the meal. An excitement shared by our kitchen team who are always eager to meet our guests and wish them Bon Appetit! We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you for choosing The Prune,

Regards,

Prune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Friends and I had a great meal on a recent weekday night. The service was excellent, unlike what happened to the author of dining disaster review below. We were all pleased with our meals, and were totally wowed by the chocolate bread pudding. We enjoyed a leisurely meal served in a timely manner by a very helpful and pleasant server after seeing a matinee performance. While there are many dining choices, this is one of the nicer restaurants, and I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley W, Manager at The Prune Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Gina M,

Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you enjoyed everything. Our kitchen team work hard with our service team to ensure that all of our guests receive the same exceptional experience. We recognize that Stratford has many amazing dining options to explore, and know the significance of you choosing us.

Regards,

Prune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My father treated my husband and myself to dinner at The Prune on Saturday night to celebrate our 24th anniversary. We had a delicious meal, served by experienced, polite and knowledgeable staff. Rarely have I experienced dinner out with a staff so challenged by problems getting the food to our tables and yet dealing with this overwhelming situation so graciously. I understand patrons concern with a play to arrive at for 8pm yet need to ask how some customers could be so discourteous to The Prune staff and reputation by judging this one off evening so harshly. To be able to dine out in this wonderful restaurant, to attend a play in a theatre such as the Stratford Festival, to live in a country as free and full of opportunity as Canada and then to complain about something as trivial as the unfortunate incident which happened Saturday night seems very ungrateful to me. Shame on you. The food was delicious, the service was warm and gracious and the inconvenience was nothing when balanced against a world dealing with so many heartbreaking events. Kudos to the staff, kitchen and servers included, who provided us with a lovely evening Saturday. We will be back and plan on celebrating many more anniversaries at our favourite table at The Prune. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MBSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley W, Manager at The Prune Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

MBSeb,

Thank you for your comments and your supportive words. We strive to create an enjoyable and memorable meal for all of our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your meal with us. The Prune team remains committed to providing exceptional food and service in a timely manner to every guest that chooses to dine with us. We recognize how important a dining experience in such a lovely restaurant is and we hope that you will continue to share your anniversary, birthday, and "just because" dinners with us.

Regards,

Prune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I had dinner (sort of) at The Prune last night. Although we arrived at 5:45 pm, we had to leave to catch our 8:00pm show before our main courses arrived. We were assured repeatedly that the food was on its way but when it had not arrived by just after 7:30 we decided to leave. The staff was attentive and apologetic, although challenged by the lack of food to deliver to our table. Several other tables seemed to be having a similar experience. We were surprised and disappointed. The Prune has been in business for years and one would think that they would have mastered getting their patrons off to the theatre on time. We will not be returning to the Prune as we know there are many other excellent options in Stratford.

1  Thank CAE1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley W, Owner at The Prune Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear CAE1232014,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your experience with us and we apologize again for the inconvenience you may have encountered. We at the Prune work hard to create ever-changing menu options for our guests, and our most recent menu proved to be our most popular yet, a customer response that our team had underestimated. We recognize that our guests have many dining options in Stratford and know that the Prune continues to be a top choice for our patrons. We sincerely hope that you will return.

Regards,

Prune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prune Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to The Prune Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing