We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”

The Prune Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prune Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 142 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $54
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nile Street
Description: Contemporary Canadian cuisine under the creative guidance of Executive Chef Bryan Steele which celebrates the bounty of local producers and growers. Innovation and creativity explores world cuisines while the classics are presented in new and sophisticated ways to create an uplifting and memorable dining experience. The wine program showcases boutique labels from both local and international growers, and our front-of-house team offers elevated service in a casually elegant style. We pride ourselves on every guest feeling welcomed and fulfilled long after their dining adventure.
lansing
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We don't get a chance to stop in at the The (Old) Prune every time we are in Stratford, but when we do it's always a great experience. The menu and the wine list is outstanding. The service is always top notch and they know how to move through the meal to make sure making showtime isn't a problem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toddcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    61
    27
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Prune did not disappoint!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After coming to Stratford for decades, we finally had the opportunity to visit the Prune. Generally we are squeezing dinner in between a matinee and evening performance so never felt we had the time necessary to enjoy the prix fixe 3 course menu. This year we arrived in early afternoon and had a 5:15 pm dinner reservation. We were done in plenty of time to walk to the Tom Patterson for the 8:00 pm curtain.

Our family of four opted for the regular prix fixe menu. I opted for the $85 4 courses, because I couldn't choose between two of the appetizers, and our vegetarian son had the $59 veggie menu.

I am frankly puzzled by some of the recent negative reviews that I read. Everything we had was excellent. The pea soup appetizer was a particular highlight, very light and flavorful. The small taste of lobster salad on a house made cracker served on the side was exquisite. The veal cheek main course was one of the best dishes I have ever had. The chicken liver mousse appetizer was big enough for the whole table to share. The desserts were all excellent.

The only constructive criticism I will give is that the vegetarian entree is not quite large enough, and is short on protein. Next time we will call ahead and request a special dish. The vegetarian in our group, while not a vegan, does not eat cheese, so couldn't eat the mozzarella on the salad. The zucchini main course was interesting and beautifully presented with a creative cheese filled squash blossom garnish. Hardly the equivalent of "stuffed zucchini boats from the 1970's" as described in another guest's review. Good attempt. However, the portion was very meager.

Service was excellent, very attentive. Was dinner slow paced? Yes. This is what's known as a slow food dining experience, and I mean that as a positive. However, we were never short on service. The staff came by frequently to check on things, refill water (filtered, an improvement on the city water), etc. they also were cognizant of our theater time.

The setting is beautiful, especially the back room that is lined with windows on one side and overlooks a small back patio and garden. The restaurant is in a great location for walking to the Avon, Studio or Tom Patterson theaters. And most importantly has ample parking so we were able to leave our car.

We will be back next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DetroitSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I called ahead and made our reservation, but realized as we were driving up from New York we would not make the appointed time. The manager was wonderful, saying the table was ours and not to worry. He also assured us we would have enough time to eat and make it to the evening show.

The food was simply divine, starting with a lovely amuse bouche of Chilled Tomato and Peach Soup. Each dish was fantastic - it's hard to pick the best of the entire meal. Although the main courses were highlights: Pickeral in a Frothy Corn Broth and simply perfect Risotto with Guanciale and wild mushrooms.

Put this one on your list when you go to the Stratford Festival!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to its billing.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Incredible food, great atmosphere. It was the nicest dinner my wife and I have had. Splurge and have a great evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Prune Is Back On Track”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I like to think that restaurants take note of my constructive criticisms and then act on them. In my last review I said while the food is excellent they needed work on their service. Well they must've heard me as this time the service was excellent and they are now pairing wines with dishes. Whatever changes they have made the Prune is now back to when it was the Old Prune, excellent service food and atmosphere. Easily one of the best restaurants in town. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yakster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prune Restaurant also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to The Prune Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing