We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Comfort Food At Bentley's”

Bentleys Bar Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 142 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bentley's is one of Stratford's most popular restaurants, and a frequently visited pub by both locals and visitors. If you're looking for a good pub, or restaurant in Stratford with great food and friendly atmosphere, you'll feel right at home at Bentley's.
Greenup, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food At Bentley's”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

While on a visit to family in Toronto, we took a day-trip to Stratford on the Labour Day weekend. Many restaurants were closed for that Monday and Tuesday, but we found Bentley's open. I ordered a steak sandwich and salad, my wife got the mac and cheese, and my daughter got the shepherd's pie. We all agreed that our food was good. Service was fairly good, but after asking for a few minutes to review the menu about different three times, our waitress disappeared for a good while. Decent sports bar atmosphere, if that is your thing. High backed booths were nice. Like all things in Canada, the prices were high and the 13% sales taxes were aggravating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    191
    110
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pretty good bar menu”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was staying nearby while on a business trip and we decided to try Bentley's one evening. The food was average as was the service. I'd go back if I was in the area again, but I know what I'm in for, average all around, that's good though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good choice but slow”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Some surprising finds onthe menu, but the beer choices were great. Refills of our drinks were very slow. DO NOT go in here between 5 and 7:30 pm if you don't have to: the post-theatre- matinee crowd fill it around 5 and the people off for the 8pm show are also jostling for tables and bar service. We werent off to the tjeater, so we held out and by 7:45 were two of maybe a dozen patrons in the place (but that had no impact on the slowness with which our secomd beers arrived).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good view ... relax and enjoy.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Whenever I go to Stratford, Ontario and I want a pleasant outdoor dining experience, I always go to Bentley's. If you can get an outside table, this restaurant, located on the main thoroughfare of Ontario Street, is a pleasant place to relax while you're dining and just enjoy not only the well-cooked food but also the view of the street and the passersby. Their Caesar salads are excellent, and if you don't want a burger or a fancy entree I can definitely recommend their Garlic Cheese baguiette as a starter and the Elizabethan Chicken Cutlet or the Crispy Chicken Cutlet Burger as a main course. All in all, this is a good place to eat, relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good service, quality food, nice time”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

If you want reasonable food at good prices (for Stratford), then Bentley's is a solid choice. Located on the main street, it is a reasonable jaunt to all theatres and shopping within the downtown core.

One half of Bentley's is a bar while the other is a sit-down restaurant. There is a lot of food choice, all of it reasonably priced and the service is quite quick. A lot of choice at the bar as well

Sit wherever you like: there isn't a host. This is one of the local hangouts for the younger crowd in the evenings/weekends, with live entertainment sometimes on weekends as well.

Parking is a tad of an issue as there is a municipal lot in the back. You may have to walk a tad to get there.

Will definitely go back next time I'm in Stratford.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHearsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentleys Bar Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Bentleys Bar Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing