We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rundles Restaurant

Rundles Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rundles Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $92
Cuisines: Canadian, French, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (41st SEASON OF RUNDLES: MAY 26 TO SEPTEMBER 23, 2017.) "On the bank of the River Avon, Rundles is an idyllic spot for pre-theatre dining in Stratford. The room, all grey cement and pale wood, feels like a Mies van der Rohe-designed spa. Chef Neil Baxter, who's been head chef since 1981, has a flair for the dramatic, in a good way. The tender poached lobster with salmon roe, cubed cucumber, yuzu jelly and dill oil sparkles like a mosaic of multicoloured sea glass and tastes bright and clean. Flawless panfried rib-eye showcases classic training and finesse. At the end of the meal, the server suggests "the famous lemon tart." The bruleed concoction, studded with toasted pistachios and sided with smooth orange sorbet, lives up to its recommendation." (Toronto Life) Pre-theatre seating times: 5, 5:15, 5:30, 5:45, or 6 pm. Late dinner seating available after. Closed: Monday.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal from the limited menu on Sunday evening. The setting was enchanting, the food wonderful and the service just right. The host was a bit pretentious but I loved his jacket so forgave him...a delightful evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NeophyteHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    42
    17
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost or the effort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have eaten here before and, while it is the most expensive restaurant (I have tried them all over the years) it had been worth it in the past. Unfortunately this year (2013) it has really gone down hill. The service was really very poor (a kind of small-town-snooty, if you can get your head around that) but that could be forgiven if the food was good. Alas this year it was bland and quite uneven. It seems that it has started to rest on its laurels (including laurels bestowed upon it by me) and a certain contempt (a very strong word but one used advisedly) has developed between the restaurant and the patrons. A kind of "if you don't like how we do things, you lack sophistication" kind of attitude. A great shame given the town is so wonderfully friendly and I love to go back every year.

Regrettably, I have to advise that it is not the place to eat any more in terms of quality, value or plain old good manners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2014. Yet, we are sorry to have read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team

(40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“NOT Worth It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and OpenTable, I expected to be wowed. And after a fashion, I was: I was shocked and terribly underwhelmed.

The staff here act like they are doing you a favor and are so pretentious we just about walked out. My friend and I were dressed up and ready for a lovely meal at what is supposedly one of the finest restaurants in the area. Upon initial inspection as we approached the building, we were hopeful. Looking out on the water, which had canoes, swans and a small concert in the park, we assumed the restaurant would live up to our expectations.

Boy, were we wrong.

The maitre d' with his hippie attire looked bored and as if he wished he were someplace else (and after interacting with him, we indeed wished he worked somewhere else). He showed us to a table next to the kitchen in the back dining room when many others were available in the main room. Why? I own a restaurant and that is breaking rule #1! We had reserved a table weeks before, so we weren't walk ins. We requested another table but he wouldn't move us. We then asked a server, who was fine with us moving. By the way, in our 90 minutes in the restaurant, no one was seated at that table, and 2 additional 2-tops were open as well, so there was NO REASON TO SEAT US THERE in the first place!

Most people dining here have a 2 pm theatre performance to attend, yet the service was so slow that we had to skip a course and get up and request a check or we would have missed it.

The food was uninspired at best, and there was a light out at the top of a very precarious staircase where the washrooms are located. It was completely dark at the top, and given the elderly clientele, it was definitely a dangerous situation.

I would recommend dining anywhere else than this overpriced, underwhelming and SLOW restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Valhallapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2013. Yet, we are sorry to have read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team

(40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“worth the splurge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm puzzled about the comments regarding poor service. We did not have that experience at all. Gracious, impeccable service combined with absolutely delicious and perfectly prepared food to produce one of the most memorable meals we have ever had. The menu is creative and sophisticated, we left feeling quite satisfied and pampered. The perfect venue for a special lunch or dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Italia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly prepared lamb is hard to find, but Rundles knocked it out of the park. All of the food we had was outstanding. Great service, adequate ambience. Short but decent wine list. $50 per head for two course meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliengruvgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rundles Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Rundles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing