We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Worth It”
Review of Rundles Restaurant

Rundles Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rundles Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 142 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $99
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: (41st SEASON OF RUNDLES: MAY 26 TO SEPTEMBER 23, 2017.) "On the bank of the River Avon, Rundles is an idyllic spot for pre-theatre dining in Stratford. The room, all grey cement and pale wood, feels like a Mies van der Rohe-designed spa. Chef Neil Baxter, who's been head chef since 1981, has a flair for the dramatic, in a good way. The tender poached lobster with salmon roe, cubed cucumber, yuzu jelly and dill oil sparkles like a mosaic of multicoloured sea glass and tastes bright and clean. Flawless panfried rib-eye showcases classic training and finesse. At the end of the meal, the server suggests "the famous lemon tart." The bruleed concoction, studded with toasted pistachios and sided with smooth orange sorbet, lives up to its recommendation." (Toronto Life) Pre-theatre seating times: 5, 5:15, 5:30, 5:45, or 6 pm. Late dinner seating available after. Closed: Monday.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“NOT Worth It”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and OpenTable, I expected to be wowed. And after a fashion, I was: I was shocked and terribly underwhelmed.

The staff here act like they are doing you a favor and are so pretentious we just about walked out. My friend and I were dressed up and ready for a lovely meal at what is supposedly one of the finest restaurants in the area. Upon initial inspection as we approached the building, we were hopeful. Looking out on the water, which had canoes, swans and a small concert in the park, we assumed the restaurant would live up to our expectations.

Boy, were we wrong.

The maitre d' with his hippie attire looked bored and as if he wished he were someplace else (and after interacting with him, we indeed wished he worked somewhere else). He showed us to a table next to the kitchen in the back dining room when many others were available in the main room. Why? I own a restaurant and that is breaking rule #1! We had reserved a table weeks before, so we weren't walk ins. We requested another table but he wouldn't move us. We then asked a server, who was fine with us moving. By the way, in our 90 minutes in the restaurant, no one was seated at that table, and 2 additional 2-tops were open as well, so there was NO REASON TO SEAT US THERE in the first place!

Most people dining here have a 2 pm theatre performance to attend, yet the service was so slow that we had to skip a course and get up and request a check or we would have missed it.

The food was uninspired at best, and there was a light out at the top of a very precarious staircase where the washrooms are located. It was completely dark at the top, and given the elderly clientele, it was definitely a dangerous situation.

I would recommend dining anywhere else than this overpriced, underwhelming and SLOW restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Valhallapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2013. Yet, we are sorry to have read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team

(40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    48
    20
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“worth the splurge”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm puzzled about the comments regarding poor service. We did not have that experience at all. Gracious, impeccable service combined with absolutely delicious and perfectly prepared food to produce one of the most memorable meals we have ever had. The menu is creative and sophisticated, we left feeling quite satisfied and pampered. The perfect venue for a special lunch or dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Italia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly prepared lamb is hard to find, but Rundles knocked it out of the park. All of the food we had was outstanding. Great service, adequate ambience. Short but decent wine list. $50 per head for two course meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliengruvgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a great shame”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I feel a duty to report on this restaurant after I posted a very favourable review last year.

The atmosphere is great but alas the food and service were very poor. The chap at the door in the red trousers (i think a manager) was very nice but when things went terribly wrong at the neighbouring table (an unfortunate accident involving four drinks being dumped on a diner) he stayed away. The server who spilled the drinks did not apologize, nor did anyone else. We were shocked. Astonishing.

The menu was fine but a quite limited selection (not very good for vegetarians; the only choice for a main course was a stuffed mushroom).

I hope I don't sound harsh, but if a restaurant is presenting itself as top class (and charging in the neighbourhood of $100.00 per person, with wine), it seems that it should do more to ensure a good dining experience--for all of its patrons.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2013. Yet, we are sorry to read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and determined detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Certainly over rated. The chicken dish we had was unseasoned and bland. Not up to its usual standards. Certainly not worth the money you pay. For top dollar one should expect top quality in the food. Will not return. There are too many other good restaurants in Stratford that offer better value and better food. Was quite disappointed in our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank drb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2013. Yet, we are sorry to have read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team

(40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rundles Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Rundles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing