We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, served with wit and elegance”
Review of Rundles Restaurant

Rundles Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rundles Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 140 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $101
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: (41st SEASON OF RUNDLES: MAY 26 TO SEPTEMBER 23, 2017.) "On the bank of the River Avon, Rundles is an idyllic spot for pre-theatre dining in Stratford. The room, all grey cement and pale wood, feels like a Mies van der Rohe-designed spa. Chef Neil Baxter, who's been head chef since 1981, has a flair for the dramatic, in a good way. The tender poached lobster with salmon roe, cubed cucumber, yuzu jelly and dill oil sparkles like a mosaic of multicoloured sea glass and tastes bright and clean. Flawless panfried rib-eye showcases classic training and finesse. At the end of the meal, the server suggests "the famous lemon tart." The bruleed concoction, studded with toasted pistachios and sided with smooth orange sorbet, lives up to its recommendation." (Toronto Life) Pre-theatre seating times: 5, 5:15, 5:30, 5:45, or 6 pm. Late dinner seating available after. Closed: Monday.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We love Rundles! We've been eating here at least once during every visit to Stratford. The food is always excellent, perfectly sized and wittily conceived. Don't be mislead by an austere first impression. There's humor here but also a serious interest in serving excellent food.

1  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Rundles Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 332 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Rundles is a well-respected restaurant in Stratford, with high prices to match its reputation. Our dining experience there in August 2012 was somewhat disappointing. We ate in the upstairs bistro, which is "cheaper" (approx. $50 fixed price per person for two courses). Our waitress was competent but chilly, and to our dismay the wine list consisted of three offerings by the glass -- one red, one white, one rose'.

Given the high prices, we also were disappointed in the very small portion size. Neither my companion nor I are big eaters, so if we left hungry, most diners must leave VERY hungry.

The restaurant business in Stratford is very competitive, and there are many excellent choices. Rundles has some catching up to do.

5  Thank RichmondTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2012. Yet, we are sorry to have read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team

(40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rundles delivers. It is an excellent restaurant, in a beautiful setting, tastefully decorated, and under the guidance of a seasoned chef. However, you should expect perfection, and with the glorious exception of the lemon tart, one could pinpoint minuscule flaws in other dishes, and in the service, that make this place fall just short of it: service is slightly detached; the guidance of a sommelier is missing; some of the plating shows touches of carelessness, etc. So, yes, the place is excellent, and, yes again, I'm being very picky, but Rundles has set the bar high, are we have a duty to demand they live up to it.

2  Thank VladThelad257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Rundles Food is on par with some of the best I've enjoyed. The lobster appetizer has dense lobster pieces with crunchy tiny cucumber squares and a light vinegar broth, the result is unique without being quirky and full of rich lobster flavour. The lamb main arrives with tender pink lamb slices juicy and rich tasting and ranks among the most delicious lamb ever. The cheese course dessert, all part of the prix fixe approach to dinner, is generous with 4 ample cheese samples, an apple compote, crispy nut bread and dark little seed biscuits. Marvellous. The Atmosphere is dominated by the restrained modern architecture that is softened with attention to the details with little table lamps and the careful use of wood accents. I find it a welcome contrast to the typical Stratford historic flourishes. Service is capable and professional but a bit deferential and seems to hold back from any personal expression. Perhaps this is deliberate but the effect is of standoffishness and reduces the event with the transaction nature of service. I think warming it a little without giving in to "hi, my name is" would add to the memories and pair well with the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank July1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Foods outstanding and service is excellent with a light touch of "foodie" standoffishness. Beef was surprisingly well prepared, fish fresh, and salads delightful. We choose from the Bistro menu which is somewhat limited and a tad cheaper. My wife loved the lemon tart. Service was very efficient to accomodate a 6:30 Sunday show. Lump crab appitizer was the table favorite. Reservations a must every night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JimrfEtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rundles Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Rundles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing