We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosecourt Motel

Rosecourt Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosecourt Motel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So-so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent one night on LAbor Day weekend at the Rosecourt Motel, which had been recommended by some friends, who stay there every time the travel to Stratford. We made a last-minute decision to go to the Stratford Festival, so our choices for lodging were limited. The best thing I can say is that our room was large and very quiet even though the motel is on one of the main roads into Stratford. But the room was overcrowded with furniture and borderline clean. There is a refrigerator and a microwave in the room and that is handy. Service at the front desk is not warm and fuzzy...in fact it's not really even friendly but they did provide ice when we requested some. There is no ice machine. The continental breakfast is marginal. The location to the theaters is not convenient. With more planning we would stay almost anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13bato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
5
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Room was very dirty! I got stung by a wasp that was under the edge of the bed. Could not even sit on the toilet properly as bathroom is to small. Beds were not made properly and not clean,told it was a king size bed to find it was 2 twins pushed together. No coffee maker in room,no alarm clock, no lamp shades on lights. Furniture was scratched and holes in the walls. There was a light outside the room that kept going on and off all night long. And at 7:15 in the morning someone walking into our room without announcing themself!Rude staff, no good evening , good morning or even apologies. Not worth the money to stay at !! This motel is an insult to Stratfords fine culture and hospitality

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazzoccofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Sykesville, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

I visited Stratford for the weekend, and stayed 2 nights at the Rosecourt. I was happily surprised of the convenient location- just off Erie Street and close to Williams Coffee. My room was spatious, the bathroom large, and everything was clean. The water pressure was also a happy discovery- almost a massage head with plenty of hot water. I'm returning to Stratford next weekend and have already booked my room... If you can't spend over $100.00 a night, and you're looking for a quality room for your money (while not staying in the Hospital Residences) Rosecourt is just the place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dramacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Room was clean and small; typical of it's era. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Friendly staff. Our room had a bright outside light that shone through the cheap blinds and was left on most of the night. Internet access is okay, but better the closer you are to the office. Overall, it isn't a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe4075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

It was the first time my wife and I have visited stratford to see the shows. We found this motel through the visitors guide and had amazing time while we stayed there. The room had nice TV, air conditioning and wireless internet, which was really helpful. The garden was very beautiful and had nice place for people to sit at the back. Re commanded to anyone who is looking for reasonable rates and quite environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is an old plain motel, showing its age but still taking in the budget traveler. The rooms are very basic but acceptable, the gardens a pleasant welcome. Unfortunately one of our beds had obviously been slept in, and we were stuck with asking for clean sheets from a confused young man in the motel office and remaking the bed ourselves at midnight. To add to the experience, we discovered the bed-legs were broken, and sitting on the end of the bed caused one end to collapse, and the pillows at the other to try to catapult into the air. When complaining about this the next morning, and asking for a small credit the innkeeper seemed unimpressed. He could make a bed in ten minutes, so why should I be upset? The dirty sheets may be an anomaly but the innkeeper's attitude seems likely to be less so.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rileycat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

It's hard to review a place like this. It's a 1 to 1.5 star motel, so it's hard to be effusive about it, but as motels at this level go, it's pretty good.

We were only in Stratford for one night, so it just didn't seem worth spending on a nicer hotel. And I'm not into B&Bs. When I am looking for a cheap motel, I have basically one criteria: it should be clean and cockroach free. This place succeeded on that level. Not a single pest in sight. Girl commented that the mattress was uncomfortable, but it didn't bother me. The blanket was scratchy and kind too small for the bed, but it was okay. The shower was actually very nice and had good pressure. The room had a fridge and microwave. There were full ice cube trays in the freezer, which I guess replaces the need for an ice machine, which there wasn't. There weren't cups in the room, which was a little annoying, but they gave me some when I went to the office.

A quick note. The website claims that the motel is walking distance to the town center. You CAN walk; I did, but it's a really long walk. Over a mile, and it's not a particularly nice walk. You certainly wouldn't want to do it late after a show.

If I were doing this trip over again, I would stay here again. But you just shouldn't expect anything remotely luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank meschwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosecourt Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosecourt Motel

Property: Rosecourt Motel
Address: 599 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rosecourt Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosecourt Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosecourt Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing