We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's our home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suburban Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suburban Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's our home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We have stayed at the Suburban for several years in a row, and would not stay anyplace else! The service, cleanliness, convenience to town, and our hosts' warm hospitality cannot be beat.
The low price is definitely worth the 10 minute (easy) drive into town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaGRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
56
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Suburban Motel is a good value for a night at Stratford. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. There is a small refrigerator in the room. Although outside of town, it is convenient, and very quiet. And there is the convenience of parking right outside your door that a motel provides.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer3861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is a clean, comfortable motel near Stratford at the right price! Friendly, helpful proprieters. Nice country setting. We'll definitely stay here again when we come this way.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FriendIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have stayed here twice, to see plays in Stratford. The motel is located at the edge of town, but Stratford is such a small city that it's only a short (5-10 min) drive in to the center of things. It's really a nice pastoral location, very quiet and peaceful, even though located on the main road, the main road is only two lanes and there is little traffic at night. The window of our room looks out to grassy fields as far as the eye can see.
The rooms are ample to hold a comfortable king size bed, table, easy chairs, TV, fridge. Everything clean and fully functional. There is a pool. Free wireless works fine. Free "light" continental breakfast. This is a family-run business and the staff here are exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful about the area. For clean, affordable, comfortable, basic accommodations you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairdesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

A great place to stay - great management, well kept, atmosphere friendly and quiet. Entire place extremely clean. We loved it. It was very cozy and the family who owns it is very nice and professional. We really enjoyed the quiet country setting

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grifster059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We recently took a trip to see Cabaret at the Avon Theatre and we decided to stay at the Suburban Motel based on the rating it received on Trip Advisor.

If you want to stay right in Stratford and don't have a car, this may not be the motel for you but otherwise, it is a great place to stay. It is situated about 3 kms outside Stratford in the country and it is an easy ride to get to the downtown.

Although it is an older motel, it is very clean and tidy and well kept. There are about 25 rooms and about 3/4 of the rooms were occupied

It is a family run business and it is obvious the family takes a lot of pride in the business. They live on-site and are available when you need them.

Our check in was very quick and we were directed to a room with a king size bed. There was a hairdryer,refrigerator, coffee maker, and iron in the room as well as large T.V. The back of our room faced on to a farmers field and there was a little porch with 2 chairs where you could sit and read. There was also a swimming pool which we didn't use but it also looked clean and well kept.

The bed was very comfortable and it is was so quiet, I had trouble falling asleep but when I did, I had a wonderful sleep. In the morning I took the short walk to the office to get my free newspaper, freshly brewed coffee, orange juice and muffin. All the little things have been taken care of and it added a lot to my experience here.

This is a great place and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet spot in the country to sit and enjoy nature

  • Liked — good value and a great place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elizlucinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We booked a one-night stay based on trip advisor reviews and were so pleased. The property is immaculately clean and welcoming--as are the grounds and pool. We had not stayed in a motel before--but really enjoyed the fresh air from the windows, the porch outside one of the rooms, the countryside. The location is quiet and convenient, and Mandy and Michael are friendly and wonderful hosts.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet, hosts
  • Disliked — Not a think
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
3.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Motel

Property: Suburban Motel
Address: 2808 Ontario St. East | GPS Address: 2808 Line 34, Perth East, Ontario, Canada, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suburban Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you prefer trees and scenic farmland over asphalt, then you will enjoy your Suburban visit. Our grounds are covered with beautiful mature trees and shrubs, with a generous amount of color being supplied by a variety of flowerbeds, headlined by our gorgeous roses. Corn and wheat fields surround us and enhance the beautiful canvas which is our property. Quiet country roads beckon those who wish to walk or cycle through "the back forty". You can also stay active during your stay by shooting hoops, playing tennis, or having a refreshing swim in our outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suburban Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Hotel Stratford
Suburban Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing