We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”
Review of Suburban Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suburban Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really Nice”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here in June visiting friends who reccommended the Suburban. We were glad they did as it suited us perfectly. Nice country property, great rate and excellent staff. Park at your door which is nice and the rooms were spotless with all the ammenities we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    41
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
59
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here many times over the years, and enjoyed it. It's not too expensive, always clean and comfortable, but a bit ordinary. Rooms are basic motel room - park at your front door, small bathroom, television. View from the back onto a farmer's field (not so bad). But we always stopped here because of the tennis court and small swimming pool, which we would use as much as we could. Family friendly, and quiet even though it's on the highway into town. Gazebo to use for lunch or chatting,and nicely kept grounds. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, all family of the owners. They offer a "continental breakfast" which is totally ordinary. Better to go into town for breakfast.
Only downside is the drive back from town, and absolutely nothing within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place! After a terrible experience at a local motel we called the Suburban. They got us a room and had it ready in an hour! Beautiful grounds, warm and welcoming hosts and very, very clean. This is a great spot for families or anyone looking for an affordable, clean mace to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Found this motel to be very clean. The rooms and the grounds are very well kept. If your looking for a reasonable price and comfortable simple accommodations this will be the place for you. It is on the edge of town so if your wanting to be in the middle of it all this not where you want to book.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nothing fancy, but a nice place to stay. Room was clean and quiet. Coffee maker, small fridge and iron and ironing board in room. Pool (outdoor, closed at our visit for season) and tennis court. Nice grounds. Complimentary coffee, muffins and juices in the in lobby in the morning. Owners were very friendly. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celtichound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My daughter and I were attending a family wedding in the Stratford area and booked a room at the Suburban Motel. After speaking with Mandy on the phone when I made the reservation, I had a feeling that we were going to be pleased with this place. She was so warm and friendly and we spoke at length about the area, which was really helpful to me, since I had never visited Stratford before. Our room was clean and well-appointed with lots of lighting and a great TV. The beds were comfortable, and we were pleased to find a mini-fridge in the room. The morning coffee was delicious!
As we were preparing to leave the next morning, we discovered our truck battery was dead! Mike happily got his jumper cables and drove his vehicle over to our parking spot and hooked us up in no time! What a lifesaver! Thank you again, Mike for helping us out.
Mike & Mandy, you have a lovely spot, and the two of you are perfect hosts. I would recommend your motel to anyone, and if I ever am in the area again, I will certainly stay with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stonefountain5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Suburban Motel in Stratford is lovely - there are many motels and bed and breakfasts in Stratford, but this is the one where my family has always gone. The owners are so nice, the rooms are clean, they're comfortable, and you'll be shocked at how quiet it is. There is a fridge in the room, and there is morning coffee, etc., in the morning. It's not the fanciest of places but perfect for us. We will never stay anywhere else when we attend the Stratford Festival.

Room Tip: I believe the corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
210 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
164 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Motel

Property: Suburban Motel
Address: 2808 Ontario St. East | GPS Address: 2808 Line 34, Perth East, Ontario, Canada, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suburban Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you prefer trees and scenic farmland over asphalt, then you will enjoy your Suburban visit. Our grounds are covered with beautiful mature trees and shrubs, with a generous amount of color being supplied by a variety of flowerbeds, headlined by our gorgeous roses. Corn and wheat fields surround us and enhance the beautiful canvas which is our property. Quiet country roads beckon those who wish to walk or cycle through "the back forty". You can also stay active during your stay by shooting hoops, playing tennis, or having a refreshing swim in our outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Suburban Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Hotel Stratford
Suburban Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing