We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B and B”
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Ranked #2 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely B and B”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This beautifully deocrated older home is perfectly situated 2 blocks from main the theatre. Leave the car and walk, Judy and Sue are wonderful hosts. No TV in room which was great - we had a screened porch and outdoor porch to sit on to read the paper and have coffee. There was even air conditiioning in the heat wave. Breakfast was delicious around the large table and great conversations about the different plays and the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
129
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

A couple of my friends and i were dissatisfied with the places that we had previously stayed at for scrapbooking. When we called around, Sue and Judy were more than happy to take on our unique requirements needed for our crafting hobby. They were excited and went above and beyond what anyone else has done before to make our stay absolutely perfect. The food was AMAZING. Grab any recipes you can from Sue. They are keepers!!! There was 7 of us in total, two of us stayed in the Key West Room. What a treat!! The decore made it feel like a mini vacation inside a vacation.

Sue and Judy were amazing. Crafters tend to have 'extra' needs. Any other craft retreat I've been on, the hosts were snobby, or pushing their own products, or the space was confined because of the amount of people. Here i got to be with my own friends, with our own space, and our own needs were met, without ANY trouble.

I can't wait to go back again. and again...and again!!!! You will NOT be dissappointed, no matter what your staying for. The ladies make you feel at home.

Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I spent a delightful weekend in Stratford to celebrate his birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Avery House and can't wait to go back. Judy and Sue are the perfect hosts - warm, friendly, welcoming, interesting and very knowledgeable about the Stratford area.
We stayed in the Bali Room which was a nicely appointed room that was very clean and had an extremely comfortable bed with great linen.
The breakfasts were incredible!! Excellent quality food! Judy and Sue sat down at the end of the meal to join all the guests who were seated together around a long table. Both mornings the conversations were extremely interesting and we enjoyed meeting guests from other parts of Ontario and the States.
Another great thing about Avery House is the central location. We were within walking distance of the Festival and Avon Theatres as well as great restaurants and shops. We enjoyed walking everywhere.
This Bed & Breakfast is extremely popular, so book early if you're planning to travel to Stratford during prime tourist season.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I've stayed here before and couldn't be happier with every aspect of this B&B. The people are great, the breakfasts are fantastic and the rooms are always beautiful and incredibly clean!! I couldn't recommend a better place to stay! My only advice is to book ahead because they do get booked up quickly. But then again, what do you expect from such a great place!! :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontariogirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We've stayed with Judy and Susan ever since they've been there. Is it six, seven years? We are in a pattern of celebrating our wedding anniversary at Avery House. The rooms are very clean and well supplied. Our favorite is the Key West Suite although we've enjoyed the Bale Suite and, on one occasion, one of the smaller bedrooms. All are delightful.

The breakfasts are unforgettable and served on the elegant and spacious dining table. Conversation always seems to be relaxed and easy. One of our favorite parts is that Judy and Susan are friendly and accessible. They devote their full attention on the guests without being intrusive.

Somehow, after breakfast, upon returning to our room, it's all back in order.

The location of Avery House is ideal. It's within walking distance of all of the Festival theaters.

What do we like least about Avery House? Having to leave at the end of our stay.

We're looking forward to our 2010 visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

For the last 10 years my friends and I have traveled to Stratford to see plays. We look forward to our stay at the Avery House since we know the rooms and the service and the breakfast each morning will be wonderful.

We have gotten to know Judy and Sue and feel like we are visiting friends - they are so warm and welcoming. They have always been accomodating and ready and willing to meet any needs we might have.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, qc.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The B & B boasts absolutely beautifully decorated rooms with every attention to detail. Everything one could need or even anticipate needing, from coffee, tea, Egyptian cotton sheets, turned down before bed, extra pillows and blankets to Bioré facial wipes in the elegant bathrooms whose plush fluffy towels were so inviting and a plenty. Not to mention the fragrant smell of flowers wafting up to our rooms from the English style garden bursting with blooms that surround the House. “Must be something in the air’ ;0)

A gorgeous well appointed front house with large stately dinning and sitting rooms, where each guest is welcomed in the morning with fresh juices, coffee and even fine Asian tea pots for those who prefer a cup of tea. Our hostesses Judy & Sue are a pleasure to chat with and make it abundantly clear that YOU and your stay are their priority.
They are surely doing what they were meant to do.

Breakfast is fresh and homemade using nothing but local produce and eatable flowers adorn the table and each guests plate. Sumptuous, for the eye and pallet and includes great stimulating conversation. All served with a smile by our hostess Sue who does all the cooking and prides herself on LOCAL products.

Location, Location, Location, the Avery House is located right on Ontario Street (The Main Drag) and truly walking Distance between 5-10min (depending on your pace) to each Theatre and all shops and Restaurants.

Our Hostess Judy, even suggested us some Fab shops and a Fantastic Bistro for Dinner that she even called for us and made reservations for us on the spot for that evening.

I you are ooking for a little Long weekend or Week away for a little Cultural Fix or just some great shopping & Dinning, this is the place for you…

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellapont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#2 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Property: Avery House B&B
Address: 330 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Four suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath, free wifi, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing