We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Start to My Honeymoon”
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Ranked #2 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Start to My Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My parents booked this place for me and my new husband as a wedding gift. It's probably, with no exaggeration, the best place I've ever stayed at on vacation. Amanda and John went out of their way time and time again to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Great things included:

- a congratulatory box of truffles in our room from Amanda and John upon arrival
- Amanda talking to us for a good 20 minutes about things we could do around Stratford
- Our room being made up by the time we'd finished breakfast
- John's amazing breakfasts, especially his croissants
- John letting us use his fridge the night we came back with a doggie bag
-Amanda and John fielding months of weekly emails and phone calls from my dad, who was calling to see if they could upgrade us to a bigger room (they were fully booked, shock of shocks)

Amanda was lovely and always seemed interested in finding out what her guests thought about plays, attractions and restaurants. I think she does this not only because she's a warm and lovely person but so that she can pass on recommendations to her future guests.

John was just as lovely and seemed to think that saying "Today's breakfast is a homemade granola with poached pears. These pears are the first of the season and I picked them up at the local farmer's market this morning. We then have croissants that I baked this morning. Then we have a homemade hashbrown bake topped with salmon. Which, by the way, I also made this morning." was a perfectly normal utterance.

The place is spotless, the locations is superb, and the hosts are amazing. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thisisadiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear D&D,

Wow! That is one of the most touching and heart-felt reviews we have received, thank you so much.

We are so pleased that you both got to start your new life together on such a positive note. We hope that you continue to have wonderful experiences together for many, many years to come.

Your dad was a delight to work with/conspire with/collaborate with. He just wanted you both to have a fabulous time together! We really would have loved to upgrade you to a different room, but as you noted, August is such a busy time, and we were sold out months earlier.

The good news is Mom & Dad have booked with us for next year! Will be great to meet them, and hear how you are both doing as you approach your first anniversary.

Hope you will come back and visit us again when you are in this part of the world. Best wishes!

J&A.

P.S. John didn't know he "uttered"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
138
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Avery house last weekend with two friends and had a great time. The house itself is beautiful and immaculately kept. Amanda and John (new owners this year) were warm and gracious and cheerfully attended to all of our needs. On our friend's birthday, John made a special birthday treat for breakfast and brought it to the table with a candle so we could celebrate the occasion. (It was delicious!) Because we arrived without having made a reservation for Saturday dinner (you should), Amanda came to the rescue by searching high and low for a restaurant with an open table. (She found us a great restaurant.) The breakfasts were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. John and Amanda make running a bed and breakfast look easy, but I know they pay enormous attention to detail and do everything possible to make each and every guest feel well cared for. I would stay at Avery House again in a heartbeat. In fact, I'm hoping to get a group of friends together and take over the house for a weekend next year. Can't wait!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bali Suite and it was very comfortable. We slept well in the king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Nina!

We are so pleased that you, G, D, and R had such a great time here in Stratford. It was our pleasure to do a little "birthday treat," and I know the other guests at the table had fun with it too.

We do hope you'll come back again next year with your gang of friends and make it a "whole house party." Good luck with the recipe as well!

Regards,

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at Avery House for four days as a solo traveller when I attended the 2013 Stratford Festival. It's a beautiful property ideally located a few minutes walk from all the festival theatres and local restaurants. John and Amanda were very obliging hosts who went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and accommodate special needs. They were also very helpful with local information on the various restaurants in town. I have no hesitation in recommending

Room Tip: I stayed in the Poppy Room which suited my purposes but there were much bigger suites available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks Peter!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Avery House. We know that you travelled a long distance to get here, and glad that your journey was without major hassles. Also relieved that you were able to get to Niagara with such a smooth transition.

If and when your plans bring you back to Canada all the way from Australia, and you visit Stratford, you'll come back and see us.

Safe travels!

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple nights at the Avery House during the middle of the week in early September. It was a great location - short walk to the water and a short walk to the downtown core. John and Amanda were excellent hosts and took the time to make us feel comfortable and informed - some great chats about local restaurants and local activities. They also always made sure we were well fed! Excellent homemade breakfasts with local and homemade ingredients. We stayed in the Key West Suite, which was spacious and adorable. A walkout to the balcony was a great feature! All in all, we had an excellent stay at Avery House and highly recommend it to folks staying in Stratford.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Z&L,

Thanks so much for coming to visit us, and for the great review here. Glad you were able to walk everywhere - the weather was great during your visit, perfect for a stroll.

Also, really appreciate the approach you both take to food, and recognize the effort we put into sourcing local meat, eggs, fruits and veggies. Was great chatting with you about things culinary.

Best wishes for the next couple of months. Hope all goes smoothly. Come back and see us again, perhaps for an anniversary again.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolphustown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderful old house located within an easy walk of the Festival Theatre. We left our car in the driveway and walked everywhere, including downtown for the Avon Theatre and restaurants. House is immaculate, nicely appointed, and the food is great (thanks, John). Very comfortable bed and wonderfully soft pillows. Amanda and John contacted us ahead of time to confirm details of our stay and to check for any food allergies. We really enjoyed chatting to other guests and Amanda at the family-style breakfast table. We also appreciated the coffee ready for guests to help themselves before breakfast.

Room Tip: We had the front Bali room, and didn't see the others, but it had an ensuite bathroom - very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueK0H1G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi M&S,

Thanks so much for visiting us here at Avery House. Yes, most guests find it so much easier to park here, leave their cars, and walk everyone. No scrambling for a parking spot just before the play starts!

Pleased that you liked the décor, and the breakfasts. Hope you will come back and see us again.

Thanks for the nice review.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As someone who had stayed at Avery House for years and had appreciated Judy and Sue's attention to detail, I was concerned to learn that the B&B had new owners. The concern was soon allayed when the new owners emailed me to confirm the details of my reservation, including reviewing my personal preferences. They obviously had notes from the previous owners, as they were aware of food allergies and other concerns. In the email, they also offered to assist with local arrangements, including dinner reservations. I appreciated this consideration in advance of my arrival.

The entire stay reflected that level of planning and consideration. My food allergies were accommodated in a gracious way that didn't call attention to them, and the breakfasts were wonderful. John made the most of local, organic items with delicious, creative recipes. I had the happy feeling that I was starting my day in a way that was both indulgent and healthy.

John and Amanda are knowledgeable about the Stratford plays, workshops, restaurants, and shopping. Our group enjoyed talking with them about the plays we had seen, workshops we had attended, and restaurants we had experienced. After our visit, they emailed us about the 2014 season so we could plan ahead. We've already booked our reservations for 2014 and 2015.

Beyond having awesome owners, Avery House itself is a lovely place, conveniently located and very clean. The indvidual rooms and suites are very attractive and comfortable, as are the shared living spaces -- living room, dining room, and porch. The central air conditioning was most welcome during our August visit.

I'm already looking forward to my next stay.

Thank you, John and Amanda!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 617Carol617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Carol,

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are very happy that you and your entire gang had such a great visit to Stratford this year. It really has been an outstanding season at the theatre. Your "whole house party" was a lot of fun to chat and laugh with. So knowledgeable about Shakespeare! Wonderful that you are all able to gather here each year, and carry on the traditions.

Yes, we are always happy to accommodate different dietary requests or restrictions when we know about them ahead of time, as we did in your case!

We are not exaggerating when we say that we are really looking forward to seeing all of you again next year, and 2015! Merriman says hi.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

John and Amanda continue the wonderful tradition of Avery House. The location is the best. Amanda welcomed us with everything we needed to know. John's breakfasts are great. Each one had an initial fruit with yogurt and house made granola round (my favorite, marsala baked peaches), a baked item (the rhubarb muffins were to die for; one specially made without nut topping for a friend), and a main (mediterranean frittata, baked french toast). No newbie missteps; all data from the years before handed off to them without a hitch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hey MEZ!!

Thanks so much to you and the entire gang that took over Avery House recently. You guys were all so much fun, and so into the theatre, that we just loved hanging out and hearing what you thought of the productions. We've added TG's review site to the directory on our own website, as we really enjoyed his commentary on the different plays.

So pleased that you all had a good stay, as we know that you've been coming for many years. As we've written below, as guests ourselves here at Avery House, going back to 2004, we know what a great job Judy and Sue did. We're trying not to make newbie mistakes, although we're sure that one or two have snuck through unintentionally.

Thanks for booking 2014 already. We are definitely looking forward to seeing your team again next year.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Property: Avery House B&B
Address: 330 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Four suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath, free wifi, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing