We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avery House in Stratford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Ranked #2 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Avery House in Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been coming to Avery House for years so you can appreciate when we learned that Judy and Susan had sold this wonderful home to new owners we were somewhat concerned what we would find this year! Never did we imagine it would be so enjoyable.
John and Amanda have made all the improvements that needed to be done. Our room had new furniture that added to our comfort. Our friends room had a new bathroom and closet. These things might not sound like much, but believe me it makes the world of difference.
Avery house has everything a traveller could possibly need to make their stay a distinct pleasure.
John makes a marvellous breakfast and a great time was had by all.
I would never hesitate to recommend Avery House.

Room Tip: The loft room has a wonderful balcony and small kitchen. The room in the lower level is cheery and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
C&J...

Thanks so much for visiting us, and for the nice review. It was great meeting you both, and your friends, N&T. So pleased you loved the sheets on your bed! You started a new trend, as some other guests overheard you raving about them, and also inquired about sourcing. I guess we are now in the linen business!

Finally, thanks for booking your 2014 stay so early. We'll look forward to seeing you all next year.

Thanks again.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
128
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

First time staying at Avery House and hosts Amanda and John made it a wonderful experience. We have always stayed a different B&Bs but that will be changing. We are already looking forward to returning next year! Breakfast was delicious. Thank you John for your talent and care in making sure all allergies etc were addressed. It was so much fun talking with all of the other guests - reviewing the plays, restaurant recommendations, shopping, farmer's market.... Thanks for the amazing hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Wilma,

We are so glad that you and L had such a wonderful time! It was our pleasure having you both, as you added so much fun to the breakfast conversation. It's always wonderful when the table is full of laughter and vigorous conversation about the plays!

Hope you will try the muffin recipe you requested. They really are awesome, and very flexible.

We'll look forward to seeing you back at Avery House again, if not later this season, then next year. Have a great summer.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor Michigan USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been staying at Avery House for over 10 years. Being there always enhanced our enjoyment of the Festival and the city of Stratford. It was a bit startling to learn that Judy and Sue, the previous proprietors, had recently sold their business. But we needn't have worried! Happily, Amanda and John have seamlessly "picked up the reins," and Avery House was its usual exquisite self. Everything was spotless and comfortable, and the food was wonderful! It looks like there will be many years of beautiful accommodations ahead, and we plan to keep coming back as often as we can----but only if we can have the Key West Suite!

Anita G.

Room Tip: The Key West Suite is large and airy, with a lovely outdoor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear A&A,

Thanks so much for visiting us. We know that you have been long-standing guests here at Avery House, and take it as high praise that we are keeping up the standards set by Judy and Sue. They were indeed great hosts.

We're delighted that you're looking forward to many more years here, and the Key West Suite will be waiting for you! Thanks for the nice review.

Have a wonderful summer.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We used to stay at various B&B's in Stratford until we stayed at the Avery House three years ago. We haven't stayed anywhere else ever since. This year, I've stayed their twice within the last month. One visit was a two night stay with a friend and the other was for my partner and I to celebrate our anniversary. The new owners, John and Amanda, were, themselves, regular guests at the Avery House before they seemlessly took over from the past owners. The amazingly high standards that have become synonymous with the Avery House have been well maintained and John and Amanda's infectious enthusiasm and passion for the theatre and for making each of their guests feel welcome means that this place just keeps getting better! John is a master in the kitchen and his creativity and joy for cooking results in the most amazing breakfasts. He sources everything possible at local farmers' markets and local growers and has an amazing knack for also being able to cater to preferences and dietary restrictions. We told him he should open a restaurant, he's so amazing! Amanda, who loves the fact that John loves to cook, is so gracious, informed and welcoming. When we left, we felt like we've known them all our lives. We truly felt like we just wanted to ask if we could move in...permanently. My partner, who is sometimes not comfortable in B&B's absolutely insists that we make this a more regular part of our travel schedule. The Avery House is truly the best B&B we've stayed at in the world. The combination of the feel of a small luxury boutique hotel with the informed and genuinely welcoming hosts, the beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms and the 5-star breakfast dining make this place a hit on all fronts. There is one warning...be careful, you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, but the Loft with the deck is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Patrick...

What an amazing review, thank you! It was a delight having you and F. visit with us a few weeks ago. And then to see you again, with P. just this past weekend was great fun. We're sorry that we couldn't also host F&T here, but glad they found a nice spot elsewhere.

Of course, you are all welcome back anytime. The breakfast chat about the plays, food and other important subjects was enjoyed by both of us, but also the other guests at the table.

Thanks again.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been going to Stratford for many years, and for the first time decided to stay at a local B & B rather than one of the many inns or hotels. The Internet took me to Avery House, and I've just returned from three very pleasant days in this centrally located home. John and Amanda were excellent hosts, and John's breakfasts are wonderful. Avery House is within walking distance of all of the theatres and downtown, and the room was very comfortable.

I'm planning to return to Stratford in late September or early October, and will definitely be staying at Avery House. I highly recommend it to anyone who plans to visit Stratford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Allyson,

We are so pleased that you decided to try a B&B on your recent visit to Stratford, and even more so that it was here at Avery House! It was great chatting with you and hearing your reactions to the plays, as well as your feedback on shopping here in town. Glad that you were able to find some fun purchases.

We will definitely look forward to seeing you here again, whether it is later this season, or further in the future.

Thanks for the nice review.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Returning to Stratford after several years we relied on the Internet to select a B& B. Avery House Is centrally located, close to all three theatres, but well set back from the road providing a quiet retreat. Photographs barely do justice to this lovely modernized historic home. What makes it so very special, however, is the delightful atmosphere created by the owners, Amanda and John.
Our three night stay had all the warmth of visiting family or old friends with every wish anticipated. Particularly memorable were the lingering conversations over delicious breakfasts lovingly made by John. We certainly hope to return and will confidently recommend Avery House to anyone planning a visit to Stratford.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poppy Room, which was very comfortable, charming and quiet but is the smallest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear M & D,

Thank you for visiting Avery House, and for being such wonderful, gracious guests. Your contributions to the breakfast conversations were much appreciated, by both of us, as well as by the other guests. So pleased that you liked both the house and the food!

Please come back and visit us again, we'd love to see you. And thanks for the lovely review here.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Avery House in Stratford. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and very comfortable. John and Amanda are wonderful hosts -- very helpful and attentive to our needs -- and John is a seasoned cook. Breakfasts were something to linger over. They included several gluten-free items, which was a nice treat, considering I often cannot eat muffins and breads at B&Bs. We will definitely stay at Avery House again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabanana1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear A&E,

Thanks so much for visiting us at Avery House! It was great hearing about your summer plans, and we appreciated all that you added to the breakfast conversation. We are so pleased that you found your room clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated!

We loved the "seasoned cook" comment. Since Amanda is also GF, we have a several really well-proven recipes that guests seem to enjoy. Let us know how the GF banana bread recipe works for you. Or, come back and visit us again and we'll make it for you.

Many thanks for the great review here. Hope to see you both again soon.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Property: Avery House B&B
Address: 330 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Four suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath, free wifi, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing