We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Here - Great Service, clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of As You Like It Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
As You Like It Motel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay Here - Great Service, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Exceptional customer service. It's billed as a motel but has the feel of a B&B. The included breakfast had everything we needed. The rooms (we've been in two) are very well maintained and very clean. My only complaint (and it wasn't their fault) is that it's a bit of a distance to the theatres and so we had to take some cabs. I could have done it on foot but not the kids. But the cabs came quickly when called and they operate on a flat rate so it was easy to budget.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sikitula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I've stayed in Stratford at B&Bs and I don't find them private enough. The As You Like It Motel is one of the cleanest, most comfortable, reasonably priced places I have stayed at anywhere, not just Stratford. I'm pretty snobbish about where I stay, too. I'm sorry we came in too late to enjoy the wooded area where the pool is. Excellent staff. Only tip ... bring your own toiletries as they have only the basics.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

We arrived on one of the hottest days of summer for our four-night stay at the As You Like It Motel. I had stayed there twice before and was pleasantly surprised by the redecorated rooms, very comfortable beds, and very clean bathrooms. Nothing is worn-out or old or soiled; everything was very clean, pleasant, and comfortable. Best of all, the air conditioning was very highly effective and made sleeping possible.
The proprietor Elaine and her son-in-law Ian were very helpful with play and restaurant recommendations, and took an interest in how we were enjoying our stay.
This is a very pleasant place to stay while visiting Stratford. It is about a five-minute car drive from the Festival Theatre. A continental breakfast, including cereals, milk, fruit, muffins, toast, coffee, tea, and juices was available from 8-10 each morning in the sparkling clean breakfast room. Elaine facilitates conversations between tables, if you wish, and the guests can trade theatre and restaurant reviews.
I'll stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

I booked As You Like It for my six nights in Stratford because it was very reasonable, pricewise.

It was so much more!

The owner, Elaine, turned out to be a simply charming hostess who was very accommodating and very helpful with suggestions.

The room, while small, was immaculately kept and very comfortable. The pool area--which I didn't use--was lovely and the breakfast room felt more like a b and b than a motel. That was the finest aspect of the motel; it had a homey, b and b feel. My mom felt right at home.

Yes, it's a bit out of the way if you're going to the Festival, but there's ample parking in town on the streets and your trade-off is quiet, restful surroundings and a wonderful staff.

I cannot recommend it highly enough and will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAS576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Room Location: East side first floor
Odors: Slight scent of fabric softener in sheets and towels.
Noise: Only sound we heard was when talking people walked by outside the room. The thru-wall A/C unit was not run, so no fan noise.
Cleanliness: Very clean. Better than our home.
Staff: Very courteous and helpful. We would want to meet them again.
Breakfast quantity/quality, when included in room rate: Above average.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I concur with the previous review. It will now be the only place for us. It was fairly modest, very easy for us to get in and out of, and enjoyable. We liked the small outdoor swimming pool, loved the breakfast hall and the loving care Elaine and her staff gave us. We liked the rolling lawn with trees and gardens. And we liked the help we got when we had questions about Stratford. We also had good heartfelt conversations with other patrons staying there.

The beds were comfortable and everything was "up to snuff."

Other people might not like the smooth gravel driveway or the lack of excess - it was just enough and no more for us - perfect will have to do.

- Hal Newnan

  • Liked — Elaine and her staff take good care of their guests.
  • Disliked — The rooms smelled slightly musty.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HNewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

The best place to stay in Stratford is the AsyouLikeIt Motel. It's a little "outside" Stratford (on Romeo Street) but that's all to the good - nice and quiet unlike most of the hotels/motels in town. The rooms are excellent (and reasonable) and very comfortable. It's the ONLY place in Stratford for us!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As You Like It Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As You Like It Motel

Property: As You Like It Motel
Address: 379 Romeo St N, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 km from the Stratford Shakespearean Festival, the As You Like It Motel is a family-operated business with spacious grounds and warm hospitality.Each one named after a Shakespearean character, we offer 18 newly redecorated rooms, with en suite bath, wireless internet access, colour television, air conditioner, and a refrigerator. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
As You Like It Hotel Stratford
As You Like It Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing