We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We have stayed at the Mercer Hall Inn for two years now and are booked for a third this year. The rooms are comfortable, clean, welcoming with wonderful cookies, tea and apples.

The beds are the best I've encountered in years, My daughter and I always stay in the same room every year, so it is very much like coming home.

The staff is exemplary, taking care of luggage if we arrive too early, making dining reservations and taking care of other necessities, and we love the breakfasts at Tango.

All in all a 100% great experience.

We highly recommend this hotel. We hope to stay here for many more years.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iidotrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 296 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mercer Hall Inn the 24th through to the 26th of November. The location was incredible because it is in the centre of the downtown core, and the room was amazing.

Our room had a giagantic jacuzzi tub, fireplace, large television and very spacious bathroom. The bed was also extremely comfortable. The room service, house keepers, and management all made me and my girlfriend feel very welcome and satisfied all of our needs.

We will definetly be back to the Mercer Hall because we really enjoyed the room, cafe, service and location. We definetely recommend staying here when visiting Stratford Ontario.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jaybain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

If you are looking for a spacious, clean, well-appointed room in the centre of town, look no further. We had a few minor quibbles: long-distance calls cannot be made direct from your room; drawer-space is inadequate for those with two weeks' baggage, and room supplies (tea-bags, cream, shampoo etc) were not replenished automatically - you have to ask. But the welcome is friendly, the breakfasts generous and the room had many features (CD's, a library of books, good coffee-maker, iron plus board) typical of many places at twice the price. We really enjoyed our stay there, and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2006

Wonderful people and wonderful rooms and wonderful location. Caveat- the city view rooms are along an in-town 2 lane highway with many trucks and motorcycles; it is quite a climb with bags from parking lot to rooms - so park in front first if you can. However, that being said, it's most comfortable and charming; close to all the Theaters and fine dining (don't miss the Church restaurant if you can afford it). Staff are friendly and helpful indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CintiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2005

We loved this unique inn! It was wonderful to stay at a place with so much character and not another cookie-cutter hotel. The room was large and beautiful, I don't think the website pictures do it justice. The bistro underneath the rooms was funky and fun (Although I didn't think the service there was great).

The inn keeper was so much help and was full of great suggestions. She even made us dinner reservations for a half hour after we arrived in Stratford.

One thing I found interesting about this inn is that there was NOBODY working at the inn after around 9:00 PM. We were going to request some glasses and a bottle opener in the evening but could not find a single staff person. We weren't even sure where to call if there had been something really wrong. But this isn't a complaint, just an observation. I like it that they are trusting, it's a little different than the attitude I find in the US.

Also, if you plan on attending plays (which, of course you are) and are between 19 and 29 you can get a "play-on" card. This allows you to see plays for $20 Canadian, which is a HUGE discount. You are somewhat limited on what plays you can see and you can't purchase them more than two weeks in advance. My husband and I were able to see both plays we wanted. We have one more year we can take advantage of this and we plan to!

We loved Stratford, we felt so rejuvenated when we left. We loved this inn and it's location. We would definitely want to stay here if we returned.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank zoohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

We won't stay anywhere else in Stratford! The beds are the most comfortable in town, the rooms are beautifully designed with great amenities. The Tango Coffee Bistro downstairs has the BEST croissants and other pastries that you can pick from for your included breakfast. Can't beat the location either, right in the heart of town.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gmpuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, Canada
210
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We have been a few times to the Mercer Hall. Awesome touches like local artist works, a Canadian library and CD library, unique modern boutique rooms that make you feel at home.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing