We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay and appreciate the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great place to stay and appreciate the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

This is the second time we stayed here. I am very happy with the hotel. It is really a restaurant with a total of fourteen rooms on floors 2 and 3. Warning, there is no elevator. The third floor is not for the faint of heart. The service is good, the Jacuzzi (if you get a room with one) is wonderful, the staff caring and attentive. Mercer Hall is in a great location, near shopping, the river, gardens, many restaurants and both the Avon and Tom Patterson theaters. I highly recommend this if you do not need a traditional hotel. They bill themselves as a Bed and Breakfast, but there is no annoying owner who feels it is his/her duty to entertain you. You get a credit of $10 a person per night to order anything off of the menu for breakfast. Perfect for the person who likes to decide what to eat. The restaurant (Tango's) is good and I would suggest going there for breakfast or lunch even if you are not staying at Mercer Hall Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usually_happy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    77
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
182
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

My wife and I are from the Stratford area, but we recently moved to Edmonton, AB. This past April, we came home for our wedding, and my mother reserved our first two night's stay at the Mercer Hall Inn. My wife was excited, as she used to work for Tourism Stratford and was well aware of Mercer Hall's high standards for service and elegance.
The night of our wedding, we did not get to the hotel until 2pm, but the room was cool (very warm, muggy day!), the bedroom beautiful. Our room overlooked the Avon River, and if you are from the area, you can imagine how great it is to view the river from the comfort of your room.
The next morning, we contacted the concierge/manager, Brian (who, by the way, is a great guy and our favourite waiter from Fellini's all those years ago), and he accommodated all of our requests within a matter of minutes. Not once did we have to ask for something twice, and on a number of occasions, Brian and the owners took the time to personally speak with us. We were always told, "If there is anything you need, just call." At the Mercer Hall, this was not just a friendly way of saying 'goodbye'.
Our room was cleaned whenever we did not place the "Do Not Disturb" ticket on the door (and we left at various times of the day), and conversely, the staff was incredibly respectful of our privacy when we desired it. This was important for us, as we value our privacy. We never felt as though we couldn't leave money or our computers laying on the table if we had chosen to do so. Mercer Hall's staff had the unique ability to cater to all or our whims and desires, yet provde us with an inviting, tranquil, yet secluded, atmosphere.
In terms of value, the rooms were well priced and the breakfast voucher for the adjoining restaurant was over the top. Try the Egg's Florentine: it is excellent.
In fact, we enjoyed those first two nights so much that we ended up staying at the Mercer Hall In for an additional three nights, and then left for our honeymoon. While we could not wait to get to Cuba, our honeymoon, because of the exemplary service we received at the Inn, started the night of our wedding.
Thank you so much to the Mercer Hall Inn and its friendly staff. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbi_n_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is the second year we have stayed in the Mercer Hall Inn. The location is fantastic - within walking distance of everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Your stay comes with a voucher for breakfast at Tango; the food is good, and it's convenient to be able to eat at the restaurant right downstairs. The rooms are comfortable and serviceable, and the cookies are great. The hotel also has free wireless internet, which is a great feature for those travelling with laptops.

It's a good value, at a great location. I know we will be staying there again when we return to Stratford.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

I am an avid traveller for both business and leisure. The Mercer is situated in the town centre. Free parking, clean rooms right down to the crab tree and evelynn body soap. Friendly staff and fantastic Tango style breakfast which is included in your stay. No "fake" eggs here folks paired with a skinny vanilla latte.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

I recently stayed at Mercer Hall Inn and was thrilled with my stay. The room had a very relaxing, calm, decor. The bed was so comfortable!! I loved all the small touches--the wine, and the books on the shelves. It made it all seem very homey. My friend and I had a wonderful dinner at Fellini's where the staff made us feel very welcome. I enjoyed the casual talk with the staff. We shared a few good laughs.I would definitely go back again! We had breakfast at Tango's and once again the staff was exceptionally friendly. It was very enjoyable.

It was the relaxing getaway that I very much needed.
Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dialves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

From the first encounter of early check-in, to the romantic Red Room, to an entertaining breakfast - everything was perfect. This is simply a charming hotel with superb staff, excellent facilities and lots of 'extras' in the details. Our check-in and check-outs were wonderfully handled. Our room was excellent, the beds were amazing, the jacuzzi amazing, the fireplace comfy. We will return (again and again) for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCandSunshineBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Rooms clean and comfortable and very quite. Slept great! Cookies, apples, coffee and tea waiting my arrival in the room. Breakfast at Tango was GREAT. Would recommend any dish that has the potatoes, YUM! Location was very convenient to all restaurants and bars. Especially Let Them Eat Cake - delicious desserts!
- American Business Traveler

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingEnza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing