We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable, friendly hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A comfortable, friendly hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is the second year we have stayed in the Mercer Hall Inn. The location is fantastic - within walking distance of everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Your stay comes with a voucher for breakfast at Tango; the food is good, and it's convenient to be able to eat at the restaurant right downstairs. The rooms are comfortable and serviceable, and the cookies are great. The hotel also has free wireless internet, which is a great feature for those travelling with laptops.

It's a good value, at a great location. I know we will be staying there again when we return to Stratford.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    77
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
182
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

I am an avid traveller for both business and leisure. The Mercer is situated in the town centre. Free parking, clean rooms right down to the crab tree and evelynn body soap. Friendly staff and fantastic Tango style breakfast which is included in your stay. No "fake" eggs here folks paired with a skinny vanilla latte.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

I recently stayed at Mercer Hall Inn and was thrilled with my stay. The room had a very relaxing, calm, decor. The bed was so comfortable!! I loved all the small touches--the wine, and the books on the shelves. It made it all seem very homey. My friend and I had a wonderful dinner at Fellini's where the staff made us feel very welcome. I enjoyed the casual talk with the staff. We shared a few good laughs.I would definitely go back again! We had breakfast at Tango's and once again the staff was exceptionally friendly. It was very enjoyable.

It was the relaxing getaway that I very much needed.
Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dialves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

From the first encounter of early check-in, to the romantic Red Room, to an entertaining breakfast - everything was perfect. This is simply a charming hotel with superb staff, excellent facilities and lots of 'extras' in the details. Our check-in and check-outs were wonderfully handled. Our room was excellent, the beds were amazing, the jacuzzi amazing, the fireplace comfy. We will return (again and again) for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCandSunshineBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Rooms clean and comfortable and very quite. Slept great! Cookies, apples, coffee and tea waiting my arrival in the room. Breakfast at Tango was GREAT. Would recommend any dish that has the potatoes, YUM! Location was very convenient to all restaurants and bars. Especially Let Them Eat Cake - delicious desserts!
- American Business Traveler

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingEnza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I work in the sales department for a large hotel chain so I tend to shy away from smaller non-brand hotels. However, I was searching online in the Stratford area for a place to stay for a romantic Valentine's evening and I came accross the Mercer Hall Inn. After checking the reviews and photos I contacted the hotel directly and was impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff members. (Brian and Anne) I booked a Valentine's special package that included breakfast, dinner, a bottle of wine and a cheese/cracker and fruit tray. When we got to the room I was ecstatic - the room was beautiful (king bed, jacuzzi tub, fireplace) but it was all of the little touches that made the occassion even more special....from the collection of romantic CD's to the heart shaped cookies to the single red rose left on the bed. The Mercer Hall Inn is truly a hidden gem and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking to "get away from it all". We will definately visit again!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario-Beauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Our trip to Stratford really was perfect - it was our first romantic getaway since our son was born a year ago. I honestly can say I couldnt have asked for more! The service was amazing - Brian is an awesome host and made us feel comfortable right away! We loved everything about the room, location and the food at Fellini's was some of the best we have ever tasted. Then again breakfast at Tango's in the morning was delish!! Eggs Benny for both of us - cooked perfectly!! (again probably the best I have ever had!!). We are already planning our next getaway - Mercer Hall Inn is a 10+ in every way!

  • Liked — Friendly service and amazing food!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foster's Inn
Foster's Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing