We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent for Stratford”
Review of Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercer Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a bit of an odd place. You have to check in at the restaurant. Stratford, however is not known for its wealth of upscale accommodations and I think the Mercer is about as good as it gets. The rooms are a nice size and nicely appointed. It was a bit of a maze trying to find the room, but once I did, it was a pleasant surprise and quite quiet for being right on the main street. The location is unbeatable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 299 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been going to Stratford each summer for over thirty years and finally settled on Mercer Hall as the best option. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, and you can't beat the location. The restaurant now offers a high quality lunch and dinner, as good as any in Stratford if you like the menu. And Mercer Hall provides free internet.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor to minimize stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A2Russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Mercer Hall Inn from Aug 18 - 21. Service and food were excellent. The BEST part is the location. We were within easy walking distance of all of the theatres (during the Stratford Festival) and all restaurants and cafes. However, one of our best meals was at the MHI.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scourtice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I visited Stratford this August for our anniversary. As it was a surprise trip, planned by my husband, I had no say in our accommodations (but was pleasantly surprised!). We arrived on a Wednesday, and check-in was no problem, even though we were a little early. Being 6.5 months pregnant, I didn't LOVE the hike up to the 3rd floor (no elevator), but I suppose it helped burn all those calories from the food we ate on the trip. We had a room with a king-sized bed, electric fireplace and decent bathroom. Unfortunately there wasn't much of a view, or any balcony, but we were out most of the day and saw shows at night, so that was okay.
If you're considering the Mercer Inn, you should know that you will be right in the centre of the Stratford 'action', within walking distance to all theatres, the river and many restaurants and shops. You should also know that the restaurant downstairs doesn't open until 11:30AM, there is no elevator, and the rooms aren't state-of-the-art (smaller, no soaker tubs, older furniture, etc), but this is to be expected with an Inn I suppose. Overall I was happy with the Inn, for the price we paid and access to everything we wanted to do.

Room Tip: Room 304 doesn't have a view, but does have a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bassoonjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are choosing this hotel you need to be aware that there is a set of about 20 steps to the second floor and another set to the third floor. There is no elevator and the steps are a little narrow. So if that is an issue or the fact that there is no lobby bothers you (Check in is in the restaurant.) then this is not your place. However this hotel has very comfortable rooms with all of the usual features and the location is absolutely the best in town. It is less than 5 minutes walk from the Avon and the Tom Patterson and about a 20 minute stroll from the Festival Theatre. There is free parking included with the hotel so you can turn your car off and leave it if you want to. Virtually all of the restaurants and shopping is also practically right outside the door. My wife and I are seniors, although we have no issues with carrying lugage or climbing stairs, but we have never checked in without receiving the offer to carry our bags to our rooms. I have only one complaint: I wish they would supply better bars of soap instead of those tiny hotel bars. We will be booking again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor require less climbing and rooms away from the street are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We haven't stayed at Mercer Hall for a few years, since we've been married and had our kids. We were fortunate enough to be able to snag an overnight getaway recently and decided to return to Mercer Hall.

We were so happy we returned to this place that was so special to us when we were first dating! The rooms continue to be spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The hotel really is a quiet oasis - and yet still conveniently located, right in the thick of the action in downtown Stratford.

We will definitely continue to return, this place has won our heart!

Room Tip: Room 209 (King Jacuzzi suite) has a lovely view of the river while 208 (also King Jacuzzi) overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limonadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After skipping one year at Stratford we returned to Mercer Hall Inn. It was under new management but the hotel was as wonderful as ever. We consider it our home away from home in Stratford. The hotel room was spacious and clean. An assortment of books was available in the room although we didn't have time to browse. Staff was very friendly and I like how we check into the hotel in the restaurant.
The hotel is walking distance to anything of interest in Stratford. We did not use the car once while we were there. We were able to walk to the theatre, restaurants, shops and the beautiful Avon River.
My only regret is that Tangos is gone. We enjoyed having breakfast there every morning. The bar looked very interesting although we arrived back late each night so went right to our room. Next year we will try the bar.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms and do not have a preference. All are good but if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkennedyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#4 of 18 in Stratford
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#5 of 18 in Stratford
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
344 reviews
2 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#9 of 18 in Stratford
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel

Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: $96 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heritage boutique hotel is situated in the heart of downtown Stratford and within walking distance to all the theaters. Nothing beats our comfy beds and stylish rooms to give you a great night of sleep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hotel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing