We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It was ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Mercer Hall was located downtown Stratford which was great because you could walk to just about everything including all of the theatres. Our room had a great view of the river. We went out one morning to feed the swans and ducks. Room 209 had the following amenities: iron, hair dryer, large jacuzzi, large shower w seat, LCD tv, coffee machine, AC, king bed, free wifi, free parking, bar fridge, and a fireplace. There were blackout shades, but no curtains, so the room was still bright at night and there was no microwave. Unfortunately there was no continental breakfast offered, which you'd think by the amount of money we paid they could offer us that!

There was a restaurant on site that looked fancy but we didn't eat there. You could get to your room through the restaurant, a side entrance or rear entrance from the parking lot. We found that many times, the rear parking lot entrance was always unlocked. There is no elevator, so if stairs are an issue for you, then you better stay someplace else. This hotel used old style keys, not key cards.

The hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly but slow when it came to cleaning our room. We had already returned for the day at 4pm and our room still had not been cleaned. They didn't leave much in the way of soap or shampoo. The jacuzzi was located outside the bathroom, so we had to keep moving the soap and shampoo. Two bottles of each isn't that much to ask for is it?

Overall, it was a great location but I think I'd try another place next time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gareauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    77
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
182
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This boutique hotel in an historic building in the middle of Stratford is perfect if you want to be in the heart of town. Theatres are about a 15 or 20 minute walk away, restaurants and shops are at your doorstep. You will have to climb at least one flight of stairs to get to your room but that wasn't an issue for us. The beds are comfortable, the bedding is luxurious but we were there in the middle of a heatwave and the room smelled a little musty. When we mentioned that to the staff they did everything in their power to rectify the situation. The staff at Mercer Hall Inn are pleasant and will bend over backwards to make sure you are happy and comfortable. I really appreciated their service and for that reason alone, would be back. Special shout out to the restaurant manager Jessie Larsen who does a fantastic job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel boutique located downtown Stratford. Not very big room although very clean, comfortable and well decorated. All theaters at a walking distance. Amazing food with a lot of originality. ALL staff very professional and friendly. Good job everyone! We'll be back soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

A very good hotel in an unbeatable location in Stratford. The staff was very friendly, check-in and check-out (as long as it's after 9:00 am) a breeze. The rooms are OK, which is about as good as it gets in Stratford. Consider bringing your own bar of soap --- the microchip sized pieces supplied don't do much in the face of the harder-than-hard water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ob3ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A nice hotel in a great location, especially if you're here for the Stratford Festival. It's right on the main street and an easy walk to all the theaters. Our room was small but clean, and the bed was comfortable. However, the room air conditioner was incredibly loud, and blew right onto the bed. At least when it was on, it drowned out the ticking of the smoke alarm (on the ceiling right at the foot of the bed), though the flashing went on all night. (Disclosure: it bothered me but not my husband.). There was no desk area at all, but the very helpful staff brought us a table and extra chair. Overall, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A comfortable boutique hotel with friendly staff that provides little touches sure to make your stay memorable. Clean rooms, a great restaurant, and a convenient location make the Mercer Hall Inn an easy choice. Rooms have a selection of books and music from Canadian authors and performers. A really great value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed several times at Mercer Hall and pick our theatre weekend to go in the fall when they have the space. The rooms are very comfortable and the warm fresh homemade cookie is such a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foster's Inn
Foster's Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing