We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the world 's a ....restaurant”
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All the world 's a ....restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A most welcome addition to the Stratford culinary scene, right there on the main drag, a menu filled with imaginative offerings, an informed wine list, helpful and knowledgable service, gloriously young and enthusiastic, a three course dinner that showed considerable, in the words of Christoper Plummer's wonderful new one man show's citation from the same mr. Plummer's brilliant turn as Cyrano in the Anthony burgess adaptation, PANACHE.

Go to this restaurant and partake in a celebration of the future of good food in a town that deserves more measure for measure. Tacky but true.

Room Tip: It is also a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamcares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastaguy62, Owner at Mercer Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Mercer Hall , our new Restaurant and Staff appreciate the feedback . Thank- you again for your support and we hope to serve you again soon .

David Martin .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    87
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
191
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second stay here and the reason it does not get an Excellent is that we booked it as a Bed and Breakfast. Last stay we had terrific breakfasts at the restaurant but that has been discontinued. Although vouchers are given for other locations, none for breakfasts and we were disappointed. However the rooms are great with terrific amenities and the location is superb - within walking distance of all theaters and downtown. Staff are friendly, convenient parking. Do note that it is not handicap accessible. We will surely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastaguy62, Owner at Mercer Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank-you for your review and your comments, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year .

David .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Reviews of the hotel sounded good and the location is great. We were disappointed with almost everything else. The hotel has no elevator and the stairs are formidable -- especially if you have a room at the back where there is an extra staircase. The room itself was dark even with lamps on. With the shade open you looked into another hotel room. The towels were threadbare and scratchy. (We stayed at a Best Western on the road home and they had better towels.) The air conditioner sounded like a cement mixer. All this for a high price. I don't recommend the Inn. Surprisingly the newly opened restaurant downstairs was great. Excellent food and service. The owner should put as much thought and care into the rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastaguy62, Owner at Mercer Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We thank -you for your comments and patronage , we are please you enjoyed our new Restaurant , but I'm very sorry the Stairs were such a problem during your stay at the Inn . unfortunately we were not aware of your physical limits till you were here and we did our best to accommodate. We do our best to let all our guests know we have no elevator on our Website , when booking , and on our confirmation emails and mail outs but we apologize if you we were not clear in our communications .
We will review our website and other communications to ensure the NO elevator is always known as our daily goal is to exceed our customer expectations, not to fall short .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I did not stay at the Inn on this visit, but we did enjoy lunch on their patio. Excellent food - equal to anything offered at the finest restaurants in Stratford.

Even though I had a casual dish - their burger and fries - it was the best I have had anywhere. Huge portion, superb quality, with some interesting homemade smoked ketchup and pickles on the side.

I notice that the inside part has been refurbished from my last visit and is a very elegant space now, with private dining spaces as well.

Wonderful addition to downtown Stratford!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mercer Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank-you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed our new restaurant . We have just completed a 4 month complete make-over of the restaurant and a new culinary team headed by Tim Larsen who is working closely with all our local growers & purveyors .
We look forward to see you again .

David Martin .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Unlike, say, Niagara on the Lake, Stratford is lacking in boutigue hotels. Mercer Hall Inn tries to fill this niche. The location is excellent, convenient parking,new restaurant very good for the snack we had. We has a room with 2 queen beds which is hard to find in Stratford for 2 travellers who are not a couple. The room was a decent size, clean bathroom, well laid out with nice touches such as water, apples and cookies. Staff were pleasant. Good air conditioning in a heat wave. However the hotel hallways and rooms are a bit tired looking, the upholstery was stained, bedding of poor quality and the towels were old and icky. The hotel could be great but needs some freshening up.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mercer Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank-you for your patronage and taking the time to review our hotel as it really helps us to improve our property and services. Our goal is to continually update our rooms and products to provide the best experience . We apologize for any poor quality items and we have reviewed with our house keeping and laundry service to improve quality assurance .
Thank-you again , and hope to see you again soon .

David Martin .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My hubby and I went to Stratford for the first time a few days ago. We stayed at the Mercer after seeing all the positive reviews on here. We really enjoyed it! The room was a great size with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The location is fantastic, you can walk almost everywhere. Wished we has stayed an extra night. Yes, there is stairs but it's totally fine. Yes, the check-in is in the restaurant but the staff is super nice and helpful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tay1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at Mercer Hall Inn for two nights. The hotel is centrally locaetd in Stratford. Approximately 10 minutes walk to Stratford Theatre.

Hotel was cozy but a bit pricy.

My room had jacuzzi and fireplace. I didn't use jacuzzi as I saw several hair in the bathtub. Other than that, room looked clean and well maintained.

I rated very good because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing