We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" A great place for a Celebration"”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“" A great place for a Celebration"”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We usually spend a weekend together with our best friends to celebrate our anniversaries.
This year being our 50th. we decided to go to Stratford. We all love older homes and antiques.
We studied all the B&B's in the area and decided upon The Old Rectory, We were not disappointed with a thing, other then we had to go home. The home is so beautiful,with many unique antiques displayed.The gardens so relaxing, the food delectable, the location was great as we were able to walk everywhere and enjoy the town. The hospitality Kevin & Kim showed was tops. Many thanks for the beautiful gifts left on our night table, they were fantastic.
We will definitely stay with them the next time we go to Stratford and have told all our friends.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don - Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Kevin & Kim are most gracious host, which extended warm hospitality. We stayed at the Old Rectory upon recommendation of a old friend which has stayed many times prior. I was not disappointed, nor was my skeptical 79 year old Mother. This was my first visit to both Stratford and The Old Rectory. Kevin did a terrific job with breakfast and made a wonderful dinner recommendation in town. This inn is top notch!

Room Tip: The individual suites were private and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The rectory is located on the main road and easy to get to.The ambiance is superb .The front room is relaxing .The meals are delectable and gourmet comes through. Kim and Kevin are very attentive to your needs and gracious hosts
s

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Old Rectory is a wonderful home away from home. The breakfasts are so good, you may not want to go back home. Kevin and Kim are wonderful hosts and Connor is quite the little gentleman. It was our first time to both Stratford and the Old Rectory and we will definitely go back to both. Location was perfect, we could walk to everything. We would definitely recommend the Old Rectory to anyone looking for a comfortable, warm and wonderful place to stay in Stratford.

Room Tip: Room #3 had its own balcony and faced the east side so it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a great weekend in Stratford at The Old Rectory. Kim and Kevin were the ultimate hosts and the breakfasts were amazing. Great location as we could do a quick walk into town. Best part was the impromptu gathering in the parlour. Great group of people where we felt welcomed immediately, thanks to the hospitality of Kim and Kevin. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WABToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have traveled to Stratford for at least the last 10 years and have stayed at The Old Rectory each time. We have never been disappointed with the room, the food, or the hospitality of Kim and Kevin. The atmosphere is always warm and they have always been very helpful in locating new and different restaurants for us to try. We highly recommend The Old Rectory.

Room Tip: If you cannot walk stairs, ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been coming to Stratford on our anniversary weekend on and off for the past 27 years and we've stayed at many places, some very nice, and some less so. The Old Rectory was the best place we've stayed. The cost was a bit higher, but it was worth it. The hosts are so friendly and helpful, and they served a delicious hot breakfast in a beautiful dining room.

The location and setting is wonderful, close to all theatres and the downtown. We can highly recommend a stay here, and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room just off the front hall. It wasn't noisy, but also not the one to take if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuvenGotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#2 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing