We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rochester
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've been staying at the Old Rectory for about 15 years and love it. We stay in the carriage house because of the extra sitting room upstairs where we can just relax or enjoy a glass of wine with friends. Kim and Kevin are the perfect hosts - cheerful, accommodating, lovely people who are completely knowledgable about Stratford, - the restaurants, the plays, and going's on in town. Kevin's breakfasts are always creative and delicious. The back yard is great for relaxing and reading beside the pond. And The Rectory is within walking distance of all the theaters and many of the restaurants, making it the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Kim and Kevin make every guest feel special. The food is excellent...tasty, creative combinations and perfect sized portions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just arrived home from a two night stay at the Old Rectory B&B. This was our first visit to Stratford but it will certainly not be our last.
Kim and Kevin made us feel so welcome, we arrived as guests, and left feeling like old friends. Wonderful hospitality. The breakfasts and the dinner were amazing. We spent an hour in the garden by the pond, reading. It was so relaxing and peaceful.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coach House - two floors with a kingsize bed and bathroom on the ground floor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AthomeNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

There are many good things that I would say about our stay at The Old Rectory, but what set it above other experiences we have had was the level of pampering we received. Of course the rooms were wonderful, the location perfect, the garden beautiful. But to have coffee awaiting us each morning to drink while we read the newspaper, to have a delicious breakfast customized to our preferences, and to have a fridge stocked with water and soda just outside our rooms, was true luxury. Our hosts made us feel appreciated and welcome. They shared the history of the building and their transformation of it with us. Even better, they shared recipes for two of the homemade breakfast items that we especially enjoyed.
When one is the "mom" and has to take care of everyone else, it is truly a restorative experience to be taken care of, as Kim and Kevin do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookinggeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful stay in Stratford made better by staying at the Old Rectory.

Kevin and Kim were absolutely the best B&B hosts ever. Tthe house was historic and beautiful, the back yard relaxing and cool in the shade on a very hot day. Breakfast was outstanding. Thanks guys you made the trip perfect.

Eric & Nancy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I'm picky. The hospitality is top notch. We arrived late at 930 instead of 800, the owner came outside to help us with our luggage. A quick lay out of the place and we were off to bed. Aside from breakfast being amazing each day, we have a refrigerator next to our room with coffee that also appeared outside our room in the morning. We were also updated on local events and maps for each day. I could not have asked for anything better. Top notch service, food, hospitality, and location for shopping, dinning, and theaters.

Room Tip: Room 1 has ONLY a claw foot tub, not for the sloppy shower-ers ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinkytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have been coming to The Old Rectory for over ten years and every year we have a wonderful stay. Breakfasts are amazing and the rooms are gracious, clean and comfortable. We book the carriage house which offers extra privacy as well as a lofted sitting room which can connect with the loft in the room next door. This is an ideal situation for two couples who want to hang out after a play for some wine and conversation. Best of all, Kim and Kevin are ideal hosts - warm, charming, and very hospitable. We've tried a few other B and B's in the area and nothing comes close to the Old Rectory.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing